Image Hosted by The Image Hosting

Flying By
current - archives - profile - links - rings - cast - pics! - quizzies - email - gbook - notes - host - image - design

A day in the studio
2002-07-16, 2:56 a.m.

It's been a while, hasn't it? I'm sorry! Well what's going on in th' world of Allison? Well I'm memorizing lines for th' tv show I'm hosting with seven other middle and elementary school kids. I believe I'll be kicked off soon. I'm gettin' too old. Wah. Highschool's a bitch.

There's this one line that I hate saying: "Wow! I don't know if that makes me sad or scared!" It's for a skit titled The Hometown Hero Award. It's where th' show gives out a weekly award to someone who's made a difference in the community. The award goes out to this lady who "created an organization seven years ago to educate students about the dangers and health risks of HIV/AIDS." Ha. One of my lines.

The actors in this particular skit are Daminique (weird spelling, huh?), Johnny, Alex, and I. Daminique has a high pitched, nasal voice and a lisp. How did she get the job? Her mom's the director/producer. She's not completely talentless, but she not the best actress in the world. Johnny a stout boy. He's also not the best actor and the world, but at least I can listen to him without cringing. Alex is the only true actor on the entire show. The problem with him is that he's arrogant. I could squash that tiny boy with my shoe. He can act very well and he seems so adorable. But don't be fooled. On screen he's this cute little innocent 12-year-old, but off he's a complete ass. It's too bad we need him. And me? I'm no actress. I'm way too self conscious to act. If I could learn to make a fool of myself I could do wonders! But alas, I suck.

Anyway, one of my co-hosts says a line to which I reply "Wow, I don't know if that makes me sad or scared!" I try to sound sad, but I'm a little off.

The director says "Allison, I'm not convinced. Alter the pitch of you voice. 'I don't know if I'm sad or scared!' Say 'sad or scared!"

Fine. I say it exactly the way she wanted me to. "That's great!" she replies. Yay.

"Oh, I'll be back in 15," she tells the group, "I have to make a speech for the mayor. When I get back I want this scene to be perfect!"

So she quickly changes clothes in her office and leaves, putting her friend in charge. We go over our scene again and again and again, stopping when someone doesn't say their line right.

"Oh, Johnny! Give me more enthusiasm!" or "Daminique! What is wrong?! [Daminique replies "I'm sick!" and coughs] Well you can do better than that!"

What gets me is that her nose is stuffed, but she still sounds exactly the same. Heh.

Back on the subject-- we finally get to my line after rehearsing Johnny and Daminique's lines for 15 minutes.

"Wow. I don't know if I'm sad or scared!" I say with a sad face.

"Say 'WOW!'" she tells me, sounding excited when she exclaims wow.

This really confuses me. I'm supposed to sound sad, but she wants me to sound excited. How can one sound excited and scared at once? I don't find it possible, but I sound excited anyway.

Suddenly, the director walks back in and asks us to start over. We get through most of the skit flawlessly. That is, until we get to my line again. Before I can finish she says "What was that?! What happened to what I told you?! Say it again." Oh yay. I wish people would make up their mind. Acting sucks. I don't know why people do it.

Well ta-ta. I'm getting bored with this. Adios, people.!

P.S.- I realize I haven't said the name of the show. I did that on purpose. Ha ha!

last - next