Image Hosted by The Image Hosting

Flying By
current - archives - profile - links - rings - cast - pics! - quizzies - email - gbook - notes - host - image - design

Blah
July 16, 2003, 7:48 p.m.

Wooh. I'm one happy duck. James'll be back from lessons soon, so I gots him to talk to, and Jimmie's online, which is always great. Even classes today weren't that bad.

My schedule is totally different from last week. First I have music composition (which I still have homework due for that class), wind quintet, wind ensemble, and then jazz theory.

Composition is cool. I just can't write music. I lack the creativity to do so. Besides, chord progressions confuse me.

"In C, the fifth is G. Now, you can either go back to C, or you can go to D..., if going to D, what can you choose next? Right, but change it to diminish and you get this sound..."

Blah.

Wind Quintet absolutely sucks. The oboe player gets on my nerves. I have to sit next to him, and his lack of attention to the music and to dynamics pisses me off.

"Uh, can I get a cue when I'm supposed to come in, 'cause I don't know."

Why don't you just count, dammit? You have four measures rest! What's so goddamn hard about counting four measures of rest? God, we must've stopped twenty times because he won't come in right. And he's so dumb.

"Oh I don't think we'll be able to play that by Friday."

"Did you practice it at all?"

"No, I didn't have time."

Just because he refuses to practice doesn't mean the rest can't play it. No, he's just stupid. Yeah, he didn't have time to practice to "Bolero", a tune that the hardest part is a bunch of accidentals, but he has time to practice some little technically difficult(usually involves quick movement of fingers) piece. Ass.

Wind ensemble is the same. No need to go into detail.

And theory-- Oh God! Theory! I hate that class. The teacher is a good guy and everything but he can't teach. I can understand, though-- it's his first time teaching anyone. I like him, though. He's cool. But everyone hates his class.

"Whelp, it's time for my nap!" James told me today, while sucking the remainder of the flavored water out of his ice pop.

"What do you mean? We have theory."

"Exactly."

Yep. Everyone agrees.

last - next