Image Hosted by The Image Hosting

Flying By
current - archives - profile - links - rings - cast - pics! - quizzies - email - gbook - notes - host - image - design

Selfishness
January 20, 2005, 9:31 p.m.

Do you know what I hate? Really. Do you know what truly bothers me?

People who don't give to others, who don't bother sharing.

It's not hard to donate a dollar to a friend in need, or give a piece of your pizza for lunch to another who hasn't eaten anything since the night before. I can't stand people like that, people who're so damn stingy with everything they own.

Best example: Drew Davis.

Yes, it's Drew Davis, ladies and gentleman. The asshole. The rich Jewish guy whose father gained his pecuniary status off of the stock market. The kid that lives in a house worth a million dollars. The one who's party I went to a while ago and... yeah.

Yes, this Drew Davis.

In history today, the Jamaican patty cart came around stopping by classes to see who would like to buy one. Poor Alfredo, who was so used to going without money and food, asked the rich Drew Davis if he could borrow a measely chump-change dollar from the dude.

Keep in mind that Alfredo is terribly meticulous about paying people back. I once lent him a dollar to buy himself a Jamaican patty, and he hunted me down the next day to pay me back. Alfredo is the best when it comes to repaying friends. There's absolutely no reason not to trust him when it comes to lending out small change.

But Drew Davis, the boy with twenty singles in his pocket, said no: "I don't like lending money to people" and walked off to buy himself some food.

That ticked me off. Here's this boy, who asked Drew because he was hungry, because he didn't have any money, because I couldn't supply him with the dollar because I had no money, too. And this other boy, the saxophone player with the marble-interiored house on the bay in Miami Beach right off of Lincoln Road, the boy that a single dollar shouldn't really mean anything to, rejected him.

That's just wrong.

It's one thing to lend out money to people who don't return what was given, but to reject someone as faithful to his word as Alfredo is just terribly, terribly wrong.

So, because I was annoyed with his selfish behavior, I made a slur at him.

A religious slur.

"Drew, you're such fucking stingy Jew."

That pissed him off, naturally. But I don't care. He's the one who wishes to live up to the stereotype of the rich jews who, while on their deathbed, scream out, "I'm taking it all with me!"

Isn't it one of our high morals that parents teach us when we're young? Didn't they teach us that we must give to the needy if we are capable to do so?

Selfishness really ticks me off. Especially when it comes from the people who have no right to be that way.

Stupid spoiled fucking Drew Davis.

'Night.

last - next