Image Hosted by The Image Hosting

Flying By
current - archives - profile - links - rings - cast - pics! - quizzies - email - gbook - notes - host - image - design

-
2003-03-10, 9:45 p.m.

I'm unusually happy for some reason. I don't know why, I just am.

School was pretty bad today. I forgot my instrument. And my Geometry book. Because I had to get my old raggedy flute (brought to the school by my dad) I ended up getting cut from a part because I "couldn't play it". I can, too. It's just that I'm not used to that particular flute.

My newest flute, the one I'm accustomed to is an offset flute. Instead of the keys going in a straight row, the third-finger key sticks out a little. But with my older flute, the keys are inline, which means the holes are in different spots and I have to adjust my hand to cover it.

This caused some big problems in my playing and I ended up getting a small part cut from "Light Cavalry". No worries. I'll get it back t'morrow.

Anyway, History was the same, band was the same, but lunch was surprisingly different. As usual, I sat with the guys: Drew, Heath, Tad, and Harry. Heath and I got into a little debate about the universe. I say there are aliens. He doesn't agree. Then he went on to say some bullshit about how the Big Bang Theory is a bunch of bull and that scientists believe that they've seen the edge of the universe through a telescope.

"Bull shit!"

"I'm lying?"

"Hell yea! Man has not created a telescope that powerful. Besides, there has to be other life out there. We can't be the only ones --"

"But--"

"Man, just shush. You know you're bullshittin' us," interrupted Drew. "The universe is very massive. Surely there's another planet that can support life on it--"

"Then how come none have come to visit us?"

"Well, we haven't visited any planets with life, have we? They could be equal or even less intelligent than us, but I do believe there are aliens." I just listened. Drew decided to take over the debate.

I was kind of glad that he took over. I wouldn�t have won, even if I had solid evidence to prove my side. Heath will argue until he�s blue in the face. So, everything was going well until he ended up discussing my religious beliefs and how they were �wrong�. Never talk religion with a deacon�s kid.

�If there are aliens then there is a God,� pointed out Julian, who decided to join in the conversation.

�That�s not necessarily true,� I told him.

�I can prove there is a God,� said Heath.

�You can�t prove there�s a God. It�s not possible,� I argued. It�s not that I�m an atheist. I�m not, really. I was just trying to prove a point -- he�s wrong.

�Yes, I can.� He then went on to say some stupid irrelevant cockamamie stuff about all the religions branched out from Judaism or another monotheist religion.

�Well, what about polytheism?� I asked. �Where does that fit into �existence of God�?�

�In Christianity, the top three �bosses�, for lack of a better word, are God, Jesus, and the Holy Spirit. They�re all one thing. God is Jesus is the Holy Spirit--�

�What?�

�You�re getting lost already? God!�

�No, I�m not lost.� I had to think about what he said a second to understand what the hell he was saying. �Go on.�

�Well, in Buddhism there are three spirits also: Brahma and three other dudes.� I�m not even sure if that information is correct. Whatever. His words, not mine.

�Three other dudes, huh?�

�Yea. Brahma and the three other dudes are one person.�

�Well what about the rest of the gods?�

�They are all make up the embodiment of their God.�

�Man, what does this have to do with proving God�s existence?�

�Think about it. Every religion has a �Head Man�. Do you think it�s just coincidence?�

�No, I think it�s man�s way of finding explanations for things unknown. Religion is man-made. And I don�t appreciate you trying to force your religious beliefs on me.�

�What are you talking about? I�m not.�

Heath, for the longest time has been trying to convert me back to Christianity. �When you can prove that to me logically,� I always tell him, �then I�ll believe.� That�s when he always tries to find some mistake made in science to show how scientific fact is not reliable. He also assumes what my actual beliefs are.

�Don�t talk about Hell. You don�t even believe in it,� he�ll say.

�I do, too! You know nothing about my beliefs, so don�t think you do!� I�ll yell.

It�s the way it always is.

�You are too! This whole religious debate stemmed from my not being some devout Christian, and you know it.�

�What? I�m not bothering Drew about his religion.� Drew�s Jewish.

�Well, a lot of Drew�s beliefs that we�ve discussed overlaps yours. You have absolutely no reason to bother him for it.�

�You two just shut up!� Drew cut in, annoyed that the debate-turned-argument became focused on him. �Just shut the hell up! You guys are always arguing!�

�It�s Allison that --�

�Shut the fuck up! Shut up, shut up, shut up!�

�Why don�t you shut up? You�re screaming in my ear!�

He grabbed my shoulders and yelled again. �If you�d shut up I wouldn�t be screaming in your ear!�

�Just shut up!� yelled some unknown girls from another table. All of us turned in their direction and laughed.

�But--� started Heath again.

�SHUT THE FUCK UP! THIS CONVERSATION IS OVER!�

�You know, why don�t we just go back to talking about aliens?� asked Julian, who witnessed the whole argument.

�Yes! Just talk about the fucking aliens!�

�How do you know aliens fuck?� asked Heath. �Wish I could get that on tape..�

Drew laughed. I didn�t think it was very humorous.

So we went back to discussing space and aliens and the universe. Both Drew and I concluded that Heath was full of crap and there was little truth to what he was saying, but we argued our point anyway until the lunch bell rang. Drew walked me to class, as he usually does, and said bye. I turned away and headed into the Geometry room.

Geometry was boring, as usual. I can easily make straight A�s in that class if I really tried. But I don�t and I should. Oh well. Since I forgot my book, I got my first 0 in that class. Ever. It�s sad, really. It is.

I just came home from music lessons. Notice the time. My siblings left, my mother, and I left the house at 7:30 and didn't get home 'til freakin' 9:00

That's just sad.

last - next