Image Hosted by The Image Hosting

Flying By
current - archives - profile - links - rings - cast - pics! - quizzies - email - gbook - notes - host - image - design

Nigga, you ain't sweet
July 07, 2003, 9:04 p.m.

Carlyle is one hot mofo. Oh yes. Tall, dark, and oo lala handsome. I must say, I'm quite smitten.

I'm not the only one, though. Adri also has a huge crush on him, as well as Ceci and a new girl that I didn't catch her name. But anyway, back to *sigh* Carlyle. That is one seriously hot guy. Mm. And he has a wonderful voice. Mm. And.. he's muscley. *fan* It's gettin hot in here. And he gave me his name tag. *teenage giggle*

But there's one thing wrong with him: He doesn't like my slightly emo-ish side. Y'see, no one at camp has seen that side yet, clothing and all, because I've neglected my laundry for two weeks and I'm now down to what I call "Last Resort Clothes". Just about everything I own now is black or red or various other colors matched with black, etc, but they're a bit dirty right now. So now I'm down to the pre-highschool clothing: blue jeans, pink shirts, preppy outfits, etc. Carlyle, being a part of the whole R&B/hip hop scene, doesn't dig the emo look. Isaac would, had he ever seen it, but he will one day.


Anyway, camp was ok. I no longer have improv first in the morn, but studio. Today we had the most interesting thing to learn: wrapping mic cords! Wow! And guess what?! We learned how to set up a mic stand! And tomorrow's lesson... putting the mic on the stand! *gasp* Yes, that class is so exciting.

Bull.

After that I have improv, which took the place of choir, so I'm ok. I'm the single flute player and *sigh* I've got the melody. The *only* one with the melody. Naturally, I'm drowned out by the three alto saxes, the baritone and tenor sax, and the trombone and rythm section.

"Uh, can you play louder?"

A flute is not a loud instrument, dammit. It takes three flutes to equal the sound of one sax. Do you *think* I could ever outblow 8 other instruments? Idiots.

Anyway, after that we went to drop our instruments off and I was off to lunch with James and Adri and Isaac and we met up with the rest o' the peeps.

After lunch was the after lunch concert. Today was the CIT thing, which sucked pretty bad. Half of 'em weren't prepared, and a couple of them just sucked. But apart from that, some of the players were spectacular. The piano player played Badinerie I think it was. You can find it on most cell phone ringtones. The first violin on one of the duets rocked, but the second brought my opinion of the performance down. The flute player played this easy-ass song and didn't have it completely memorized, but the Weebles band was cool. Guitar, drums, and piano basically. I liked it.

After that we went to wind ensemble, which sucked. That class is *so* boring. I can sight read that crap. Knowing that we were bored, the director told the flute players to put together another little thing to work on so we're not bored. We'll just leave class and learn our duets and come in and sight read the band pieces.

The problem is that this week's flute players are mostly middle school kids. It takes them a while to learn music and on top of that, 2 out of the four are playing second or third parts. (they chose it for it's lack of difficulty.) So Jason and I agreed to do a duet. But then, Priscilla wanted to do something, so I asked Jason to find a trio, and he said to forget about him and give his part to the girl. Fine with me.

The thing about Priscilla is that she's the conductor's daughter. Naturally, she thinks she knows more about the flute than I. After all, her father helped her learn it. However, when she tries to teach others the techniques that worked for her, she gets frustrated-- especially when I offer an alternate technique that shows results. Other than that she's cool. Not a bad floutist, so I'm not complaining.

Theory was boring. We reviewed the circle of fifths and key signatures and relative minors. Y'know, baby theory. James made fun of me because (1) I laugh very easily and (2) I sounded bored as hell when answering questions.

Yes, I laugh quite easily. The stupidest thing can have me cracking up. At least, until I get used to a person's humor. James's sense of humor is much different from the "normal" *cough*DrewHarryLathanJimmie*cough* guys I talk to, so although I might not laugh at all of the the normal people's jokes, I crack up at all of James's. Plus he's got this little chipmunk-like voice to match his small body, so I laugh at everything he says.

But whatever. The day was ok. I'm no longer the only mixed girl at the camp. The other one, though, is ghetto as hell. Talkin' 'bout NMB is raw. Hell no!

"NMB ain't raw? Nigga, please. You ain't sweet. It's all about NMB."

"Bitch, you sadly mistaken." Hm. Ghettofied mode.

"Well what school you go to, huh."

"I.. uh... Krop." I knew I was gonna get laughed at.

"Haha! Krap? Nigga, you ain't sweet. That school is gay as f*ck. With yo' sorry ass band--"

"Hey don't you go insulting the band."

"You ain't sweet. [This phrase is getting annoying, I know.] Krap got the suckiest everythin'. Gay band, garbage football team, and look at your mascot! A lightning? Pfft, it's all about the Chargers, bitch."

"Our band's garbage? Yeah, see that's why blew yo' asses out at the football game, huh?"

"Oh no she didn't! You ain't sweet." She never did deny that. "That's why you got a garbage football team."

Haha. I like her.

last - next