Image Hosted by The Image Hosting

Flying By
current - archives - profile - links - rings - cast - pics! - quizzies - email - gbook - notes - host - image - design

Cigars. Ick.
October 21, 2003, 8:05 p.m.

"'Imitation is the sincerest form of flattery.'" Well said, Maya.

It seems that I, Allison, have started a new trend amongst my friends: almost all of them now have their own online diary. It is I who led the way, who created a new fad. Oh, I'm so cool. *does the Snoopy dance*

Today has been a hard day for some people. Jazzmyn's ex-boyfriend Ben received a message informing him of his father's death. Autopsy says he had a blood clot in his leg that he never got checked out.

The news spread quickly across the band. To show our sympathies, the band is donating flowers to the funeral. May he rest in peace.


On a lighter subject, English was actually easy today. We took two tests and did nothing for the rest of the period. I was happy about that.

Band was ok. We read some new music to practice our sight reading: "Finale in E minor" by Brahms. What's funny, is that it wasn't in E minor, but D minor. I guess when it was transposed for band purposes, it was lowered a half step to fit in a comfortable flat key.

And I'm sure that left about half of my readers scratching their heads. Sorry about that.

After that, we impressed my mother (who was helping Nicholson) with a little "Poet and Peasant" and then we played a bit o' Christmas music.

Then we went to lunch. I sat with the freshman again today, and ignored Jimmie, 'cause he doesn't want to say hi to anyone. Except Alice, of course. Apparently, the boy thinks Alice is more fun to be with than me. As if!

Justin walked around the area with a bunch of guys, one of them I know to be a popular "street pharmacist" at the school. The same guy that offered me ecstasy in driver's ed a few weeks ago (and yes, I did decline).

They then moved again. I witnessed the exchange of money, but the group tightened when the drugs were handed to Justin.

God, I knew he was a druggy, really, but witnessing it is just such a turnoff.

But when I went to talk to him, he led me off into one of the buildings' stairwells. I really didn't feel like doing anything with him today, so I stood a few feet away.

He looked at me with that sinister smirk across his lips. "Come here." He took my hand and pulled me over to him.

I didn't really mind, until I found out he'd been smoking cigars. Do you know how gross that is, to kiss someone after they've been smoking cigars? Oh, that's gross. But I knew he wanted the attention, so I tried to ignore that awful taste.

He stopped when he realized that I wasn't really enjoying myself, and we sat down and talked for a few minutes.

"Would you like a boyfriend," he asked me. It's really flattering that he finds me attractive enough to want to be with me (surely, he doesn't like me), but I know that's the only reason why he even asked me: He thinks I'm hot.

"No. I really don't want one." If I said I wanted him I'd lose the excuse I had for not "having fun". "I mean, I just got out of a relationship, and I don't want to jump into another one, you know? It's like, I'm actually enjoying being single."

"I see. So, we have a few minutes left. Wanna do something else?" Oh, I knew what he referring to.

And do you know what scares me? Instead of flat-out saying no, I thought about it. Normally, I'd say no instantly, because I know I shouldn't be doing anything like that, but I actually thought about it, and came damn near close to saying yes.

Do you know what excuse I came up with to myself? We're on school grounds.

That's it? I won't fool around because we're on school grounds? God, that must be the hormones thinking, because Lord knows on another day I'd be disgusted. It has to be hormones, right? Or maybe -- just maybe -- Justin is having an effect on me. God, I hope that's not the case.

"Didn't you do anything with your boyfriends?"

"No. For one thing, all of them have the kind of parents that check on us every few minutes--" I was interrupted by a snicker that escaped from his throat. "-- and besides, they were all really too innocent to actually do something with." And I'm too innocent as well, I thought.

The lunch bell rang.

"Well, sweetie," he said, "I'm going to go." He gave me a kiss and ran upstairs.

I walked towards the bandroom, swearing at myself for letting him get to me like that. Dammit, and he's not even my boyfriend.

In the band room I started helping mom file stuff, frowning at the taste of cigars that was still in my mouth.

The sound of the piano reached my ears, and I knew my favorite sax player (sorry James! Don't take it seriously!) was playing it. He'd been playing the little piano lick from one of the jazz band songs called ... "Nightwalk"(?) all week. I told mom to hold on a second, and I went into the locker room, where the piano was stationed.

Upon opening the door, I was greeted with a pair of smiles from Drew and Daniel. I smiled back and watched them tinker with the piano.

Another bass player came in whose name escapes me, and he gave me a hug and made a remark about how happy I am compared to my sisters. They say I'm the nice sister.

"You know what? I haven't bothered you in a while!" said Drew. And it's actually true. "I'm going to bother you." He lifted his hand, and the smack he gave me reverberated throughout the room.

"Oooh!" said Daniel.

"You're such an asshole," I said, and scratched him. He was then shoved against the wall, but ignored it and shifted to his knees to take out his sax.

"God, you're only doing that 'cause you know I won't do anything to you while you have that out."

He grinned. "I know." I growled and plopped down on the floor next to him and stared off into space.

Mr. Nicholson walked into the room seconds later, and quickly looked away. "Oh, Wellons and Drew! That's inappropriate behavior! I can't leave you two alone for two seconds without you both ending up on the floor!"

"Yeah, Mr. Nicholson, say it loud enough for my mom to hear!"

"Ok. Hey, Ms. Wellons! Your daughter is on the floor with Drew!"

"You nasty old man!" He laughed and walked out.

Mom laughed at me when I saw her and I turned a few shades of red before denying that I was doing anything with Drew. Mr. Nicholson laughed again, followed by a smirk from the D-man himself.

I packed up, and mom signed us out of school.

Yeah. I didn't go to 6th period. Awesome!

last - next