Image Hosted by The Image Hosting

Flying By
current - archives - profile - links - rings - cast - pics! - quizzies - email - gbook - notes - host - image - design

It's Tuesday!
January 13, 2004, 10:14 p.m.

Other than the dream I had in the previous entry, everything has been pretty lame.

I overslept this morning and barely managed to get to class on time, but I managed walk fast enough to say hi to Jimmie and Drew and get to my seat in chemistry that's usually occupied by Felipe when I arrive late. Wow. That's a long run-on sentence.

Anywho, we took a quiz, which I bombed, and did a review for the midterm. In band, we were forced to play our solos for Mr.Nicholson. I know my solo out, but I didn't bring my flute with me because I had no idea we were performing them for our midterm grade for him. You see, I play piccolo, and I'd assumed we were going to be working on the Holst suite like we've been doing the entire last week.

So I borrowed Ariana's flute, since she played oboe. The problem is, she has a crappy closed hole student Yamama flute. Those flutes are absolutely horrible. There's no tone on them whatsoever, and almost incapable to do any hard music on. But alas, I had to play.

Markings:

Tempo: 1

Tone: 2 -- Duh.

Articulation: 2

Control of air: 1-2

Dynamics: 1

Artistic interpretation: 2

Overall musicianship: 1

Whereas, if I had my flute, I would have gotten this:

Tempo: 1

Tone: 1

Articulation: 1-2

Control of air: 1-2

Dynamics: 1

Artistic interpretation: 1

Overall musicianship: 1

God, that flute was bad. I could've done better even if I borrowed Benjamin's flute, though I'm not familiar with the workings of that instrument as well.

After that, I went into his office to begin working on Solo & Ensemble, Jazz band, and Concert band evalutation with Lexi. While I was working, White Boy AKA Drew walked in and plopped next to me.

We began talking about the stupidest stuff when we got up to listen to Alice play her grade seven, hard-ass solo. After that, we closed the office door so we could talk freely without wispering.

Drew sat in my seat, Lexi in his, and I was left standing in front of the two. Lexi pulled my shirt down, which was riding up and I smiled and thanked her. Drew also started pulling it down, but much harder to see something he shouldn't. So I slapped him. He slapped me back, though softly. I pulled his hair.

He winced and balled up, while I spoke to Lexi.

"It's amazing how sensitive this boy's hair is. I barely even have a grasp on his hair, and he's curling up like a little girl. Just imagine how he would act if I really pulled it..." He stifled a scream as I tightened my grip. Lexi laughed.

That boy's scalp is seriously sensitive. If you run your fingers through his hair, he'll wince. Apparently, it developed when he was dragged around elementry school by his girlfriend, who held his hair while doing so. Good thing I was never like that in elementary school.

I stood for a few minutes, talking while slowly pacing the room, when I finally decided to sit on his lap. He slung his arms around my waist and I messed with his hands.

"Why don't you two just go out already?" Lexi asked.

"I like Allison and everything..." he started but hesitated to finish the sentence. Lexi gave a surprised look. I gave a suprised look, though he couldn't see my face. "...but," he continued, "I don't like her like that."

"Yeah, Drew's, like, the kind of guy that I'd flirt with, but not the kind I'd go out with." I squeezed his hands. He returned the gesture.

"Oh," said Lexi. The conversation then drifted about how stupid it is that everyone's trying to hook us up all of the time. I asked him if anyone's bothered him about it.

"You have no idea."

Actually, I do.

"Allison, your shirt keeps riding up," Lexi said after I rose, pulling my shirt down again.

"I know, but I've got nothing to hold it down. I don't exactly fill out the shirt right."

"Pin it to your bra."

"I'm lazy."

"Fine. How 'bout we go to the bathroom and I'll pin it on you?"

At that remark, Drew spun in the swivel (sp?) chair and repeated aloud to himself, "Shut up, Drew, shut up Drew..."

Lexi smacked him. "I knew you'd be thinking like that once I said those words."

"I can't help it."

"Hey, you could always join us if you'd like," I said jokingly, winking at him.

"Ok!"

He had to leave once his lunch bell rang. He left the office, grabbed his bookbag, came back, said bye, and left.

I continued working, stayin' during lunch and even after, and I ended up missing about half of math.

When I got there, Ms. Pond had a fit that I stayed and worked during her class time, though it wasn't aimed at me. It's Mr. Nicholson's fault, according to her, for making me stay.

We got our test back. Over half of the class failed, including me. But she doesn't think it's her fault. No, it's the class's fault.

C'mon, lady. It's and honors class! We're not incompetent, you don't give us enough time to barely complete the tests, let alone check our work for stupid errors.

And it's always the stupid errors that get me, too. Forgeting the +/- signs after doing imaginary numbers, dividing fractions incorrectly. Hell, I even did (y,x) for a solution instead of (x,y). All of these I would've noticed had I gone back and check my work. But I finished the last problem on the test 10 seconds before she collected them. The majority of the class was the same way...

Yet it's our fault that we're failing...

I stayed afterschool again to help Mr. Nicholson. Once I was done with that, Alice, Adam, and I went into the stage hallway and played Egyptian Ratscrew, trying to kill the time. We then started talking about people's crushes.

"You know how Jimmie likes Zach, right--"

"Wait-- Zach? Zachary Sandoval?"

"Yeah, don't you think that's gross?"

"He likes him? Gross!"

Hmm. I thought she knew. I guess she doesn't read his diary anymore. Oh! That's right! He locked it. *smack* Duh.

Pioneer, Liana, Jimmie, and Gaby come in the hallway a few minutes later, and distracted me, making me lose my last four cards. Jimmie sat on my back.

"Hey, sexy," I said, looking at Pi.

"Jimmie, I know the other person you like!" said Alice.

He gasped. "Allison, you told her?!" He put the rest of his weight on my back.

"I didn't mean to! Get off, man, you're making me lose!"

Yeah, so I lost. Then I went home, after ruffling Adams, hair, saying bye to Alice, kissing Jimmie's and Liana's cheek, and hugging Pi.

"I want another hug," he said, after I was done.

I gave him another one and left. Jimmie made some sly comment, but I can't remember what it was.

When I got home, I started practicing, but then fell asleep and had that horrible dream. How do I think of those things?

last - next