Image Hosted by The Image Hosting

Flying By
current - archives - profile - links - rings - cast - pics! - quizzies - email - gbook - notes - host - image - design

Hurricane!
September 01, 2004, 10:15 p.m.

I tried reading the Bible to-day, starting from the very, very, very beginning. We're talkin' first page. I didn't get too far, mind you. Once I read the lines where people live to be hundreds of years old, I slammed the Book shut, frustrated with myself that I lack so much faith (for in my heart, I truly wish that I could relate, but I find that I never can), and half frustrated with others for preaching and believing that baloney. The practical side of my brain thought up arguments against nearly every line, every so-called fact, but another part of me wished that I could be like the few others, like the "better-safe-than-sorry" people, named by my practical side. I envy them, and even if their worship to whatever god they believe turns out to be only a man-made idea created to solve problems that they don't understand, and that there is no afterlife, that we all become eaten by bacteria and insects and return to the earth in which we were born from, at least they were prepared for the worst. Wow, that was a terribly long run-on sentence.

My full apologies.


When did life become so complicated? When did I decide to take on three "college-level" classes, as well as be a member of the band, as well as practice for all-state and FYO? When did I decide to attempt all of this work and struggle to keep some semblance of a social life?

And when did this damn hurricane decide to blow its way through?!

Though Jimmie won't touch upon the subject that strikes him as, "mainstream or overtly salient," but it is something to be discussed, if only to have an account of it happening. After all, I could be killed by this "salient" hurricane. I have a greater chance of having a house knocked down, as well, even though both are unlikely. What I'm trying t say is that the fact that the subject is mainstream is no reason for it to lack the acknowledgement that it deserves. Hurricanes are a serious business here in South Florida, and for one as strong and potentially devastating as Francis to go unmentioned just because it's "mainstream" makes one seem a bit immature, and abuses the true purpose of a diary. After all, a hurricane isn't a band or a cartoon (Note: Fairly Oddparents is a mainstream cartoon); it's something serious that should be treated as such.

Take note, Jimmie, for sometimes your dismissive personality is terribly abrasive.


School has been cancelled for the rest of the week, due to the incoming storm, which should be here by Friday. It has taken affect in Monroe, Dade, Broward, and the Palm Beach counties. Isn't that fun?

Right.

Pi's comin' over tomorrow to hang out before the 'cane hits, as well as to help us prepare for this little wind and rain.

If I were religious, I'd ask you to pray for me and everyone else a la Benji, but because I am a heathen who will probably burn in hell (or at least Limbo) for all eternity for flaunting my unreligious ways. Pray for me if you wish. Hell, you can pray that I will one day "see the light," but don't count on the latter on coming true.

I'd already taken that road before. It led to nowhere.

No offense to Allison and Benji, of course, as well as the devout readers who might happen to surf in here for a while. I don't knock religion; I just can't relate to it.

Wish me lots o' luck. Ta-ta.

last - next