Image Hosted by The Image Hosting

Flying By
current - archives - profile - links - rings - cast - pics! - quizzies - email - gbook - notes - host - image - design

All-County Rehearsal (Day 1)
2002-05-17, 8:12 p.m.

Yo, peeps. ;-p What's up? I had this long day today. Today was my Honors Band rehearsal. I got to skip school today because of it. It started at 9:00 AM and ended at 4:00 PM, right? But I have to travel a while to get there (it's on the "white" side of town). I have two other practices on Monday and Tuesday, plus a performance for the superintendent of Dade County Schools. Anyway...

When I got there I was introduced to a whole new culture that I've not seen before. Coming from a ghetto broke-down school, I'm not used to a perfectly clean school without a picture of a penis written on a wall somewhere... And the people were...well some of the people were a little....weird. A lot of people had weird haircuts and orange hair. There's not many cute guys either. Gr! No eye candy. That sucks...

The band director was rather weird. He's got a doctorate and masters degree in band directing (I never knew you could get one of those...). The problem with him, though, is that he got frustrated easily. Especially on the hardest song. 'Tis Irish. For those musical people out there, it was in 6/8, but played as a fast 2/4. Yay. And it being Irish, it has really difficult sequence of notes. For those who have no idea what I just said, HA! I can't explain. I'm not one that explains very well... anyway...

I really enjoyed the rehearsal. It's the first time that I felt one with a group- a group filled with serious musicians, as I am. Our energy seems to bounce of one another as we play. It's very exciting.. I would love to do it again, even though it takes so much energy out of me.

Today is the first time I felt like I belonged. I have searched endlessly for people who value music as I do - that spend their time practicing, trying to get to the next level. This is my career choice. I know that doing this I will never regret working.

Welp, that's my day in a nutshell. Love y'all! Goodnight!! Tomorrow, I shall tell you 'bout mah little bitty crush. :-p

last - next