Image Hosted by The Image Hosting

Flying By
current - archives - profile - links - rings - cast - pics! - quizzies - email - gbook - notes - host - image - design

Guys suck.
2002-11-03, 12:34 a.m.

My Internet has disconnected 9 times while typing this entry! It's getting on my nerves.

Today was a pretty productive day. I went to lessons, but didn't practice anything. Instead, Mr. Barron, my teacher, gave my mom some info for the whereabouts of my next lovely lesson. Y'see, Mars Music, where I normally took my lessons, is going out of business. Awwies.

Mars is selling everything %10 off. Taking advantage of this, mom bought me a brand-spankin' new B flat flute with a solid silver head joint and silver plated body (with discount: $780), a piccolo (with discount: $460), and some reeds for my alto sax ($10). Expensive, I know, but they're my Christmas and birthday presents, so there.

After lessons I went to the school for a football game. Pablo, Heath, and I engaged in a debate as to whether a musical instrument, in order to make the lowest even lower, needs to be altered (i.e., add a key and/or make it longer and/or wider). I used the flute as an example.

A standard flute�s lowest pitch is a called C. However, if one adds another key and makes it longer, the instrument will go to a B flat, which is lower than C. The vocal chords work the exact same way. The muscles will become smaller to get a higher pitched sound , but will relax and become larger to reach a lower pitch. Pablo agreed with this concept.

However, Heath didn�t. He argued that an instrument can be smaller and still have the same lowest pitch as another instrument. He used the baritone sax for marching band as an example. A baritone sax has a really deep pitch. It�s also extremely huge. However, a smaller version is needed for marching so it can be carried. The smaller baritone has the same pitch as the concert version. That�s the only example Heath could offer. In fact, a concert band�s baritone sax has a deeper pitch than a marching band�s sax. I tested it. Heath�s argument�s thrown out.

When Drew finally arrived at the band room we headed out to the bus. Drew sat next to me, but then moved and Heath took his place. From then on, the guys kept talking about Sarah, Drew�s girlfriend.

�Is she hot?� asks Pablo.

�Oh yea!� exclaims Drew.

�What�s her bra size?� questions Heath.

�Excuse me,� I whined, �but I don�t want to hear this.�

�She�s uh.. A� 38 D,� said Drew, ignoring me.

DAMN!� yelled Heath and Pablo simultaneously.

�How tall is she?� asked Pablo.

�She�s about Heath�s height,� he said, looking at Heath�s 5� 6� frame.

�She�s perfect!� exclaims Heath.

�Yea,� agrees Drew.

What a lucky girl she is. *sigh*

They continued in conversation while my thoughts drifted off to Lathan and the thing that *almost* happened last night.

Drew noticed that I was being quiet (after a half hour) and started messing up my hair.

�Haha,� he laughed, �look at you!�

�Whatever,� I sighed.

�You know what?� he asked. �Have you ever though about the word �outstanding�? Normally, we think of it as good, but if you break it down, it means better than the rest.�

�Fascinating,� I said sarcastically.

�C�mon, cheer up. It makes me sad when you�re sad. You�re usually so happy.�

�I�m not sad.� In fact, I wasn�t. I was thinking. It�s normal for me to lose all emotion when deep in thought. Drew didn�t know that.

�Yes you are.�

�Drew --� I started, looking up into his emerald-green eyes.

�Pudding,� he interrupted.

�Pudding? What?�

�Pudding�s a funny word. Pu-ding. Pudding!�

�Right,� I said, smiling. �You�re really weird.�

�Hey, you smiled!�

�Leave me alone.�

Y�see? He can be sweet. He�s a little weird, but he�s a sweety.

We arrived at the stadium (FIU South), watched the game, lost the game (16-15), got on the bus, and played Truth or Dare the rest of the way back to school.

�Truth or Dare?� Heath asked me.

�Dare.�

�I dare you �. To � kiss Drew.�

�I�m not kissing Drew!� I exclaimed. Drew�s mother, who was chaperoning looked over to see what was going on.

�She�s not kissing me,� said Drew.

�Yes she is,� argued Heath.

�No I�m not.�

�Yes you are.�

�No.�

�Ok, then. You have to � let me kiss you.�

�No!�

�I didn�t specify where! I can just kiss your hand.�

�No, Heath.�

�Just let him!� yelled Drew.

�Fine.� I sighed, holding out my hand and glaring at Drew.

Almost every other dare turned out having to do with me (You must kiss Allison. You have to touch her ass. You have to grab her boobs). I tried to stop most that I could, but it was no use. I became an object and I didn�t like it. Remind me not to play that game with guys again.

Guys suck.

last - next