Image Hosted by The Image Hosting

Flying By
current - archives - profile - links - rings - cast - pics! - quizzies - email - gbook - notes - host - image - design

School is Back! Yay!
2003-01-06, 3:15 p.m.

School is again in session and I'm darn glad it is. Life was boring without school, but that's only because I have no life whatsoever. It's sad, I know, but so true.

Erica gave me a late Christmas present today outside of History. She handed me a small red bag. Inside was a green box with pictures of Tigger bouncing around and doing cartwheels and flips. I took out the box, flipped the lid open, and pulled out a silver metal pen with pictures of Tigger engraved in it, some sour candy, and a �magic towel� thing that turns into a washcloth after dipping it in water. It was sweet.

I still have the towel, but I ate the candy. The pen was stolen, and it was a damn good pen, too. *sigh* That makes me sad.

Band was ok, I guess. We did sectionals for a while. The flutes decided to practice in the brass room, so I followed �em. Since Anna, the section leader, was absent, Brian decided to take over, since he was second chair. Big mistake. The boy�s retarded. Literally. He talks funny and he�s slow. After a while of his fumbling and bad instructions, Andrea got frustrated and took over, as she usually does. We went over areas where we really suck. I mean, really suck. A few people can play most of the parts pretty decently, but most just screw up the notes. It�s a shame.

About an hour later, we joined the rest of the band in the band room and played two of our pieces for contest -- Light Cavalry and Florentiner March -- and continued to work until the lunch bell rang.

As usual, I had lunch with the guys. Tad, Drew, Pablo, and I waited for Heath to finish his little Harry Potter theme on the xylophone. The boy is obsessed with Harry Potter, man. Boys. So anyway, we walked outside only to find that our table was taken, so we were forced to sit in the damn sun.

As we were talking, Pablo started rankin� on everyone. Heath told him, �You can�t hurt my feelings, Pablo. The only thing that can hurt me at this point is my girlfriend.� A few minutes later, he got up and walked towards his girlfriend.

�How did he get a girlfriend?" I asked Drew. "I mean, the boy is so damn annoying!"
He shrugged. "I dunno. I wouldn't date him."
"Well, I hope not." Drew smiled.

The four of us continued to chat when Heath walked back, smiling.

"It's funny," he said to us, "how I just said 'the only person that could hurt me is my girlfriend.'" He paused and looked at us. We stared back curiously. "She dumped me."
"Aww, man, that sucks!" cried Pablo.
"I'm sorry, Heath," said Tad. I looked at Heath and tried to look as sympathetic as I possibly could, but all the while I was holding back a snicker. What a great friend I am.

"Yea, it sucks," Heath continued. He then explained how he broke up with him. "Then she said 'but we can still be friends'!"
"Oh, I hate that!" said Drew.
"What's wrong with that? I'm still friends with Chris," I pointed out.
"You went with Chris?!"
I blushed. "Yea. So what?"
"I can't believe it!"
"Shut up!"
He laughed. "Y'know what?" he asked the gang, but continued to look at me. "I think I'm going to break up with Sarah."
"What? Why?" asked the guys.
"I dunno. It's just getting .... weird."
"Haven't seen her in a while?"
"No, I have. I see her all th' time."
"Do you still like her?"
"Yea, I love her, but -- I don't know. It's just weird. I think she doesn't like me anymore."
"Do you think she's cheating on you?"
"I don't -- yea, she's cheating on me."
"How do you know?"
"I guess she is. She goes to an all-girls school and --"
"So she's cheating on you with a male teacher?"
"I don't know. She just... It's weird."

Through all these questions I didn't say a thing. It's not my business and I could care less how Drew's relationship is going. It�s funny, though. You�d think that the relationship would last longer. It�s lasted longer than any of my relationships, though. All of my relationships last less than a month. I have commitment issues.

Soon after that little thing ended, the conversation drifted to my little sister. �That girl is a ho!� said Pablo.
�Hey! That�s my sister you�re talking about!� I cried and hit him.
�So what? You call her a ho all th� time.�
�I can call her a ho. She�s my sister.�
�Boy, I wanna get with that girl,� said Heath. I hit him.
�Oh yea! I want to talk to her!� added Drew.
�Don�t you say that again, or I�ll hit you, too!�
�Tell her to come over my place tonight!�
I got up, walked to the other side of the table and slapped him once in the back of the head and again on his cheek. �You�re such an ass!�

Then the lunch bell rang.

Drew continued to talk about hooking up with my sister while walking with me to class. �Dude, that�s not cool!� I told him. He laughed.
�Seeya.� He said when I reached the hallway that led to my math class.
�Bye.�

Math was boring. I hate geometry. It�s no fun at all, and definitely not a challenge. Jonathan, Ben, and I paired up on a class work assignment involving scalene triangles and angle measures. I only joined because Ben always needs my help and he�d bug me forever if I didn�t, and Jonathan�s a great calculator.

I�m amazed at Jonathan�s ability to calculate numbers instantly in his head. It�s cool. �John, what�s 180-67?� Ben would ask.
�113,� he would reply without much thought.

Someone like me could never do that. I�m good at problem solving, but I�m a slow thinker. It�s not a well-known fact, but it�s true. Mental math is something I always avoid just because it would take me longer to figure it out in my head than it would to just work it out on paper or use a calculator.

Eh, I�ve got math homework to do, man. I don�t want to do it! *sigh* But a girl�s gotta do what a girl�s gotta do.

last - next