Image Hosted by The Image Hosting

Flying By
current - archives - profile - links - rings - cast - pics! - quizzies - email - gbook - notes - host - image - design

-
2003-02-06, 10:41 p.m.

I hate Alice. To death, dammit. Ok, no I don't. Just insanely jealous.

We all had to play our little solos today for ensemble class. I, like the little irresponsible chick that I am, forgot mine at home (I was practicing it) so I watched Alice play her 8 page solo.

That shit is hard, man! And she made, like, very few mistakes. Ones that I noticed, anyway. It's, like a grade 7. That's not normal music for a person who's been playing 3 years.

You know what makes me mad? If I hadn't slacked off on practicing for, like, the first 5 years, I could've been better'n Alice. ;p Y'see, people, practicing is the *only* thing to becoming a good musician. Well, that, and not doing the same difficulty of songs forever.

*sigh*


Ok, right. Speaking of her, she's got this huge crush on an orchestra kid that plays bass with Big Daniel. He's not cute. At all. But Alice says that he's so funny and nice, so whatever. I understand where's she's comin' from. But God, she talks about him constantly!

"Allisonnnn, did you see him today?"

Grr.

"Alice! Shush! You talk about him, like, ALL THE DAMN TIME!"

She giggled at that. GIGGLED. What the hell is wrong with that girl?


After school, the section leader had a flute sectional in the Music Theory room. Out of all of the flutes (15) 7 people showed up. Anna, the section leader, was pissed. I would be too. If I took my personal time and dedicated it to the someone else and they don't show up.. well I'd be furious.

Ok, whatever. So she auditioned everyone for parts. I got the majority of the playing parts in every song except "Florentiner March", I was moved to first part on "Panis Angelicus", and I get to play the whole song of "Light Cavalry". This is a true privelage, trust me. A whole bunch of other people had their parts taken away from them. Keriane, for example, must have, like 5 playing parts in all three songs combined. Teehee. I'm happy.

While we were practicing, Drew walked into the room and watched us. His sax that was dangling from his neck held in place only by his neckstrap.

Anna gave him a piercing look. "What are you doing here?"

"Oh, don't mind me," he replied while looking at me. "I'm just going to watch." He smiled when I gave him The Eye.

"Don't you have practice?" I asked him.

"Shh. Practice."

I sighed. "Whatever." I turned back around. He grabbed a seat about 15 feet away from me.

"Hey Drew, do me a favor," Anna said. "Keep a beat for me?"

"Huh? Keep a beat?"

"Yea."

"Oh, ok." He grabbed a tambourine (spelling?) that was nearby and hit it, creating fast, evenly spaced little clinks.

So we practiced again for, like, another half hour when I turned around and noticed that he wasn't there. I hadn't noticed that the clinks were gone, nor had I heard a door open. It was ok, though. I didn't mind.

At 4:05 we were let out of rehearsal. Keriane and I walked to the bandroom directly across from the theory room, where the jazz band was rehearsing. We had to knock on the door, since it was locked

A very pink (yes, pink) middle-aged, chubby dude with long blonde hair that was secured with a rubberband was demonstrating a scale to the band with his trumpet.

Just then I saw the most disturbing sight. It was horrible. Heath. He was... wearing a muscle shirt! Ew. He's got the flabbiest arms I'd ever seen a skinny guy have. *shiver* No, Heath. Don't do that again.

I wasn't about to say anything because (1) he was paying attention to his teacher, (2) he would've just started an argument, and (3) I refuse to stoop down to his level. Bastard. Preacher's kids are always such assholes.

After Keriane and I packed up we left without saying bye to anyone and chatted about how stupid it was that so many people missed the practice and about how it was unfair that she didn't get that many parts to play. After we got to th' van, I waved bye and jumped in the "family bus" and my mom and I went home.


Here's what I've done since I been home: Slept, practiced, and ate yesterday's meatloaf. No homework, no computer, nothing. Just slept and practiced. My life is so interesting!

Because I've been neglecting the computer, I haven't seen Matty in a couple of days. Kinda sad. *sigh*

Matty, email me later, ok? ;p


Ooh, dad's home. Gotta go.

last - next