Image Hosted by The Image Hosting

Flying By
current - archives - profile - links - rings - cast - pics! - quizzies - email - gbook - notes - host - image - design

Gotta love my family
2003-02-23, 12:07 a.m.

I hate my family. Damn Baptists.* Ok, so I don�t hate them, but God! Can they ever have a party without 800 mentions of Jesus, someone passing out or going insane because of the Holy Spirit? I mean, c�mon!

If you�re a religious person, fine. Great for you. I�m not one of those. Some things annoy me:

�We�d like to thank you for coming, amen. I know, amen, some of you came from a long way, amen. I�m glad you could be here, amen, to, amen, see Pastor Bobby W. on his birthday, amen. Amen, amen.�

How many times can one person say �amen� in three frickin� sentences?! There�s emphasizing, but then there�s also being annoying. There is no -- and I repeat, no-- damn reason to say one word twenty times in three sentences! At least change it! I mean, one could say �Thank you, Jesus� as some did, or �Hallelujah� as one of my second cousins did, but c�mon! I went insane.

Naturally, I felt out of place at the party. Hell, I didn�t even know I had a pastor for a great uncle. And suddenly I have to come to his party and listen to everyone else speak about how God has changed their lives and helped them through hard times.

And the religious dancing. Oh, the dancing! Why? WHY? The girls have talent and are very expressive and stuff, yea, but� it�s religious! Christianity and me don�t mix. Especially Baptism.

Do you know what else is screwy? Uncle Bobby has a Jerry Curl (spelling?) and gold teeth. Let me just remind you that he�s a frickin� 80-something-year-old pastor. He�s a strange man. So strange.

Damn Baptists.

*Note: This is only my experiences of today and my thoughts of my family and the people that do some really strange things. This, for those who randomly surf in, is not intended to be offensive. It is meant to express how I personally feel about the people that are a part of a group(s) that I �hung� out with tonight. That�s all.

last - next