Image Hosted by The Image Hosting

Flying By
current - archives - profile - links - rings - cast - pics! - quizzies - email - gbook - notes - host - image - design

Long day
2003-02-25, 8:21 p.m.

How refreshing! I just woke up from a 2.5 hour nap. Mm. Ooh, I was out and didn't get up 'til 8. Yep. I didn't get home 'til 5:30.

Today. Was a very long. Long, long, long. Boring day. Sort of. It had its high points, and surely its low points. The day, in the long run kind of stunk.

In one of my normal classes (Biology) I'm totally lost. We're doing simple genetics and it's anything but simple. Y'see, I missed last class's lecture, so I had to copy down the rest of the notes from a fellow student, but still I am as lost as a boat at sea.

"Though the probability of the plant to receive this allele -- the dominant trait -- there is still a small chance (about 25%)," droned the Ms. Russell, "that the plant will be born with the recessive trait. However, class, which trait would the plant most likely inherit?"

Paloma raised her hand.

"Paloma, can you answer?"

"Tall!"

"Very good. Now during meisosis, the alleles split. Tt becomes egg T and egg t," she draws a diagram on the board, "and, if male, it becomes sperm T and sperm t. Now, if you make a Punnett Square, name what that animal could be? Allison?"

"Huh?"

"Are you paying attention?"

No, I'm just staring into space, you duck. "Uh, yea. Um." I flipped through my notes. "A homozygous dominant?"

"That's right. Now, class..."

Gr.

English was pretty boring. We were reading Romeo & Juliet in class. Boy, I hate that play. It's so frickin' hard to read. So much crap to sift through to understand what the hell everyone is trying to say.

It wasn't 'til band that the day went downhill. It was OK for most of the day, really. I flirted with Tad and Heath. Playfully hit Pablo after he called me a man, and was teased by Mr. Nicholson.

"Hey, girl flirting with the sax player!" I don't know why he does that. He knows my name. "Get you and all the rest of the flutes into my office!"

The class hooted and called out such things like "Why're you cheatin' on Julian?" or "It's Allison Davis!" (they matched my name with Drew's. It's so mean)

Blah, so I rounded everyone up and we crowded around Mr. Nicholson in his tiny little room. We listened to the judge's comment on the Pre-Contest Assessment thing, which at one point mentioned that the flutes weren't together some of the time and needed a good tuning. I have excuses for both:

Mr. Nicholson took the tempo so ridiculously fast for that march. During the section where we had straight 16th notes, some of the people had to struggle to keep up.

Also, we didn't have time to tune. The whole thing was so far behind schedule that we didn't get a good shot at tuning. So nya.

After I came out of the room I started playing my friend's oboe. It's been a while, but I can remember the basic fingerings, since it's somewhat like the fingering on a sax. Until you get to the flat fingerings, that is.

After a while, Nicholson came out of his office to watch me play.

"My God, I suck!" I said to myself.

"Well, can you at least hold a tuned A?"

I played A, making sure not to move my mouth so that the pitch didn't drop. He clapped. "Looks like we've got our oboe player for next year." Zakia gave me a very nasty look. Oops.

I don't know how, but Heath and Pablo managed to get my flute and mess around with it. My flute is my baby. Getting slightly irritated, I got the headjoint back from Pablo, but had to chase Heath around the room to get to get the body back. He pretended he was close to dropping it, and even almost did once. I became really pissed off.

"Fuck, give me back my instrument. Now!"

He laughed and handed it back. I kicked him. "Was that supposed to hurt?" he asked. I slapped him and he walked off.

"Oh, Allison Davis is a little feisty!" teased James.

"Make up your fucking mind! Am I with Drew or with Julian?!"

"I didn't even say anything about -- Oh shit! Ahaha. Ain't nobody even said anything about Julian."

Yes they did! I should of said it, but it was no use arguing. "Whatever. Where is my case?"

"I dunno."

"Pablo, where the hell is my case?" I still needed to put the instrument away.

He shrugged. "I dunno."

"One of you better tell me where my case is."

"It's right here." Tad pointed behind the bass holders. "Pablo's so mean."

"Thanks."

The bell rung.

"Whelp, looks like I've got detention to go to," I said, remembering the detention I got yesterday for not bringing in my student planner.

"Are you ok?" Alice appeared next to me.

"Yea, yea. Fine."

"What happened?" Adam walked up behind me and wanted to know what went on.

"Nothing. The guys are just being dicks," explained Alice.

"What happened?"

"Nothing."

So I said bye and left for detention.

Detention is so boring. I guess it was meant to be that way. I just sat there and stared into space. No matter. The group didn't even have to serve the full hour. We stayed about half an hour and were dismissed.

So I headed back to the bandroom, where the orchestra was hanging out for rehearsal. Sneaking up behind Big Daniel, I thought about scaring him, but decided otherwise and gave him a hug from behind.

"Long time no see, babe!"

"Yea. Where've you been?"

"Out and about. You?"

"Right here."

The conversation then drifted to us being in a relationship.

"I heard that you won't go out with me because I'm too nice."

"What? I never said that," I defended. "That's not what I said"

"Well, what did you say?"

"Well, we've known eachother for a while and--"

"What? You won't go out with me because you've known me for 'a while'? It's only been two years!"

"Yea. I know. And your parents freak me out."

"My parents adore you." He's right. They do. Freaky. "I swear, if you were some kind of goddess, they'd be bowing down to you right now." I smiled. "An' it's strange. Like, they always ask me stuff.

'Where's Allison?'" Daniel asks, imitating his dad's voice.

"'Uh. In the bandroom?'" he answers himself.

"'Let's go, let's go see her!'

'No, we can't see her. We have to go!' We always end up leaving and not coming to see you."

"I didn't know you cared."

He gave me a hug and kissed my cheek. "See, you missed your chance."

"Huh?"

"If I didn't have a girlfriend, would you've gone out with me?"

"When'd you get a girlfriend?"

"Don't worry about it. Just some Chinese girl."

"Wow. You sound like you really like her," I pointed out sarcastically.

"I like her an' all, but -- you didn't answer my question."

"What was it?"

"'If I didn't have a girlfriend, would you go out with me?"

"Probably."

"Just probably? That's as good as a maybe!"

"I could've said 'Hell no'."

"Well, thank you for being nice."

"No, I didn't say 'Hell no' because I didn't want to say it, not to keep from hurting your feelings."

He caught the hint. "Oh?"

"Yea."

"Lets go!" Mr. Nicholson's voice rang through the hallway.

"Oh shit, gotta go." He gave me a kiss on the cheek. "Bye."

"Bye."

By that time it was time to come home, so I hopped in the car. Chris came to ask if he could get a ride home. My mom, being so nice, told him yea. That boy lives 45 minutes away from the school! That's like, 30 minutes out of our way! So, we had to drive 45 minutes to drop him off, then 30 minutes to get back home. Mom was fuming when we dropped him off.

I was suprised to see that Chris lived in a big-ass two-storied house. And he always complained that he was poor!

"Damn, Chris. You've got a big ol' house! You told me you were poor!"

"I didn't say that. When'd I say that? Did I say that?"

"Yes you did."

"Well, I'm not."

"Good, then I guess you'll have money to lend me tomorrow."

"No, see. Gaby always has the money. I'm poor."

D'oh.

On the way home, after taking mom's complaints, I fel asleep and didn't wake up 'til we got home. Of course, when I got home I slept some more. Mm.

Today was a very long-ass day.

last - next