Image Hosted by The Image Hosting

Flying By
current - archives - profile - links - rings - cast - pics! - quizzies - email - gbook - notes - host - image - design

FCAT bites
2003-03-04, 7:40 p.m.

Today was the first day in a long time that I've been sexually harassed. I mean, I don't consider Heath or Drew's antics all that violating. It seems only the extreme causes me to feel uncomfortable.

Well, having three guys using my body as something to fight over, and then getting *ahem* grabbed by a dude I don't know is, to me, a little extreme.

I mean, I was ok with all the guys staring me down when Heath asked me to unbutton my shirt (Of course I didn't). They were just being boys.

And I was perfectly fine when Drew decided to sit on my lap without asking. He could do a lot worse, but he knows what I will tolerate and what I won't.

Which is why he wasn't the one being the asshole. I mean, sure he was partaking in the fighting, but in fact he was protecting me. I don't think he noticed that he was, and even if he did he disguised it very well.

Anyway, it was that kid. That stranger. One of Jimmie's associates. He took it upon himself to bother me.

First of all, I have no fucking clue who he is and he had no damn right doing what he did.

Second of all, if he was Drew he'd still have no damn right doing what he did. At all!

Ok, so I bet you're wondering *exactly* what he did... Right.

Drew and I were play fighting, as usual. He then got up and moved to the other side of the table and sat directly in front of me. I tried to grab him and had to bend over the table to reach him. We all know what that ass (Alan, as Jimmie says) did.

Moments later I felt pressure on my butt. I turned around and saw that evil little creature behind me cracking up. Although I felt really uncomfortable at that point (for everyone knows I hide my emotions), I laughed it off. I should've done something about it.

And again, while walking back to class, he grabbed me under th' belt. I jumped and glared at him. I mean, one very deep glare. He didn't notice it.

Drew, hearing me yelp, pulled be over to him, shielding the world from me with his body. "You can't touch her. She's mine!" he yelled over the crowd.

*sigh* So he does care.


In other news, today was the infamous FCAT. The Florida Comprehension Assessment Test. Our *lovely* governor *cough*Bush*cough* makes 4th, 8th, and 10th graders take it. If they don't pass all three tests, a student can't graduate. He or she can have a 3.4 average and still not get his or her diploma if the test is failed. It's been done.

There are so many parents against the FCAT. Since it is Miami, we've got tons of immigrants coming here constantly from Haiti and Cuba. Most of them don't speak English. What is the FCAT mostly? English! A big portion of the test is based on reading skills and comprehension.

Another reason is that the science portion sucks. The average 10th grade student, by the time they've taken the test, has only been in Earth Space Science and Biology, yet the creators of the test expect them to know Earth Space, Biology, Chemistry, and Physics.

The same goes for math. Algebra I and Geometry are the two classes taken by average sophomores. However, they're expected to know Alebra I & II, Geometry, and Pre-Calculus.

But me... I'm great at math. A wiz. I'll be fine. *sigh* But since I'm in 9th, I'll be taking the boring practice test.

Whoever makes those tests are idiots. They're boring as hell.

last - next