Image Hosted by The Image Hosting

Flying By
current - archives - profile - links - rings - cast - pics! - quizzies - email - gbook - notes - host - image - design

Damn All-County
2003-04-09, 9:13 p.m.

Damn, damn, damn. I fucked up. I seriously fucked up. It's all Lathan's fault, I tell ya. Damn you, Lathan. Everything's your fault. You kept me from practicing, and because of that I fucked up.

Today was the All-County auditions. I was fairly confident I'd do well, really. I knew all of my scales, I could play both pieces, and I know plenty of people who couldn't. But whatever.

The band boarded the bus at 2:30, some even before that. I found a seat next to Alice, who purposely made me sit there because Drew was in the same row on the opposite side of the bus. I told her I didn't have feelings for Drew, and that she should try to stop forcing me to like him, but she didn't buy it:

"God, Allison, you know you like him."

Whatever. Anyway, Drew got a little bored and asked Alice to give him some cards so he could play Spades. She declined. He bitched about it for a while ("Don't you trust me?"), gave up, and asked for Mary for some cards.

Meanwhile, I was talking to Alice about a local band that was having a concert next Wednesday. Can't remember the name at the moment, but Alice told me they were good. I want to go so bad, but since it's on a Wednesday I won't be able to go. Oh, poo.

"Do you wanna play Spades?" Drew asked me.

"If you show me how, I do," I reply. I already know how to play Spades, mind you, but I knew he'd "teach" me how if he was asked. Hehe. I'm such a sly gal.

So we asked two more people to play (Heath and Alice) and then he proceeded to telling me the rules to the game. I understood, and we started the game. The first time we won thanks to my b'gillions of spades, which made up most of my hand. The second and third, however, went to hell. Both times Drew, my partner, and I had a sorry hand.

We played until we arrived at the school, where we just auditioned, walked around aimlessly, talked to old friends, etc.

Too bad Miguel wasn't there. Gawd, he was hawt.

Although my audition sucked, Alice, not surprisingly, did a fantastic job. She flawlessly played all of the requested scales and then her two pieces. Even her sightreading was perfect. *sigh* I envy her so much.


Don't mean to break my story, but I just found out some ... news. One of my friends just came out of the closet--the 5th one this month. He admitted to me he was bisexual, which I'm perfectly fine with. He's cool, so whatever. But he was so nervous to tell me.

I think it's new to him, though. He's kind of frightened of it. The boy never says the words, "bi" or "gay", but he spells it out. I can understand why, though. But he's lucky enough to go to a school with many non-straight members.

And.... he's got a crush on one of my friends, which I think is kind of cute. But I don't know what he sees in my friend. It's like... ick. He's so not cool.


Anyway, after everyone auditioned we piled back on the bus. sat next to Keriane, and Drew and Heath sat on the other side. Alice plopped down in the seat in front of me and pointed out that Drew was sitting alone three seats in front of Heath.

"Allison, go sit next to your lover boy."

"He's not my lover boy. I don't like him."

"Sure you don't... Go sit with him."

"Yeah, go sit with him," Tad teased. "What are we talking about?"

"Nothing," I told him.

"No, tell me."

"Allison, go sit with him! Alice ordered.

"Yeah! Go sit with him!" agreed Tad.

"What's going on?" Drew asked, his green eyes meeting mine.

"Nothing," I replied.

"Yeah, what's going on?" Tad mimicked.

Nodding my head in Drew's direction I said,"You two are trying to make me sit with him."

"You do know that was obvious," Drew pointed out.

"It was meant to be."

"You don't want to sit next to me?"

"Allison, go!" Alice bothered again.

"No."

"You know what? I still owe you a hit!" Heath began slapping the back of my head, hit after hit after hit. I got annoyed and moved away to the only available seat I saw: next to Drew.

Heath planned that! I know he did. Gawd, why do they do that to me?

But the abuse didn't stop there. Well, it wasn't really *abuse* but the usual playfighting Drew and I do. I slapped him for payback from the several light slaps I got from lunch earlier. Eventually, I got his arms and then dug my nails into them.

Hahaha. He said, "Owie! You stupid bitch!" XD

But surprisingly, we had some serious conversations while on the bus: what we plan to do with our lives, where we're gonna live, colleges to attend, etc. And of course, we had our goofy little conversations.

"You know what? You have really sexy legs," I told him.

He looked at me dead in the eye. I met his gaze and smiled. "Wow. Thanks," he replied with surprise. "And you decided this by...?"

"Eh, it's whatever my preferences are."

"Oh, well that's good." He was still shocked. *giggle* That's funny.

But Drew really does have sexy legs. They're not super hairy, and they're slightly muscular and deeply tanned from his days out fishing or whatever.

Speaking of fishing, he informed me that when he gets his own boat he will name it Fish and Chicks.

"That's not a normal name for a boat," I told him.

"Why not? It's cool."

"Fish and Chicks?"

"Yeah, you know, like 'fish and chips'?"

"Yeah, I figured. But Fish and Chicks?"

"What's wrong with it?"

"Nothing."

He even told me something that surprised me: He hates kissing.

"You? Hate kissing?" I laughed.

"What?"

"You're the guy that would openly make out in front of his sister."

"Well, yeah -- no, not anymore. Like, I used to like it and all, but if you think about it, it's really gross. I mean, you're just sticking your tongue in someone else's mouth." Like I would know, right?

"Yeah, if you think about it that way." It was hard for me not to laugh. For so long I thought of kissing the same way.

But by the end of the day I did come to a conclusion: I really don't like Drew. He's cool and funny (and cute), but he's really not what I would go for. There's no real connection between us, although he's a blast to hang out with.


Heh. Guess it was just lust.


I'm such a teen.

last - next