Image Hosted by The Image Hosting

Flying By
current - archives - profile - links - rings - cast - pics! - quizzies - email - gbook - notes - host - image - design

Heath's such an asshole
2003-04-25, 12:41 a.m.

I'm stressed. Again I'm piled with homework up to my neck that is due in 7 hrs and a kitchen to clean (still) and a 300 pg book to read and study by Tues. But instead of working, I'm wasting my time writing in my journal. Well, I need to vent.

My English teacher Ms. Silverman asked me to be a part of this little competition in school. I am one of twelve students in various grades representing the student body in the Lightning... er... something. It's a competition where the students and a group of administrators read a book (this year is Maya Angelou's I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings) and each are asked questions. The team that gets the most correct wins and are treated to a luncheon. The thing takes place on Tuesday and I just got the book today. So yeah, I'm behind. But.. I'm on page 62. I should be done on time, I bet. I've only been reading it for an hour.

On top of this, we basically have to know every literary term imaginable, and have a vast vocabulary (I have to learn 63 new words) and have to do very, very careful reading. And, again, all of this has to be done by Tuesday.

All of this, and I still have to keep up with my normal life. There's a concert in May that the band is rehearsing for, Laredis' quince rehearsals every Saturday, flute lessons, homework (which I managed to get tons of), and then chores. Where the hell do I find time to actually have a life?


And... I got an A on my history test. Yippee! I think I got one wrong, but that's ok. An A's an A's an A. God, I studied for two hours yesterday. I hate history with a passion and tend to forget everything.

Band was ok, too. After getting humped from behind by Drew and shoved around by him and Heath, we played "Semper Fidelis" and another march that I forgot the title to.

While doing English homework, I was humming the flute part of "Semper Fidelis" to myself when I realized that the flute section was playing the entire part incorrectly at one point. The music is written in 6/8-- 6 beats in every measure and an 8th note gets (nevermind) one beat -- but everyone was playing the 16th notes in 4/4. When dealing with 6/8, a musician is supposed to think in two, but not really. I mean, if a foot is tapped it's only two taps per measure, but in the musician's head he's thinking 3 beats per tap. The flute section wasn't doing this, though, and was playing the 16th notes on the & of beat two (think: when the foot lifts) instead of playing on the & of 6. The effect is totally different; when thinking in 6/8, there would be sort of a delay in the application. Eh, nevermind. This is too complicated. *sigh* Only I would think of such things.


Heath is bent on embarrassing me in front of Drew. After getting hummped from behind, Heath stared at my boobs, completely ignoring the fact that it was freakin' cold in the locker room (where else would he get away with that?). Yeah, you know where I'm going with this...

"Wow. Looks like Allison's getting really turned on," he pointed out. Drew laughed. I just shrugged it off.

Actually, while I don't despise the sexual harassment, it's not sexually appealing to me; It doesn't turn me on at all. Drew just does it 'cause I'm a prude and he's bent on pervertin' my mind.

"Drew, you know she finds you attractive. She told me that once..."

"Yeah, I did say that," I agreed. Drew looked me in the eye and smiled.

"... she said you'd look hot without the huge nose."

"Hello! You've said that thousands of times. I've told him that myself a long time ago!" I said.

"Well I think he'd look funny without the nose." Drew's got the typical Jewish hooknose.

And then they started making fun of my nose. Heath said I have large nostrils and they kind of look like wings. He claimed that I could fly away if I flared them enough. The others laughed and used their hands to flap their nostrils. I glared at them.

He then started talking about how I'm stupid because I'm still with Lathan. He found out that the boy flirts behind my back, and claims that Lathan's probably cheating on me. He then made a very stupid statement:

"All flirting leads to relationships." Bullshit.

In the beginning, before I knew him well, I flirted with him all of the time. When he asked me out I declined. Drew and I flirt all the time, but I wouldn't agree to going out with him, even if I wasn't in a relationship. And look how I flirt with Tad. I would never even think about doing something physically with him, or being with him. Heath kept butting in on my counterexamples, preventing me from making my point.

"You flirted with Lathan, didn't you?" he asked.

"Yeah, but that's totally different."

"How is it different? If you didn't flirt with him you wouldn't be in a relationship right now."

"Flirting does not always lead to relationships."

"How can it not?"

"I flirt with Drew and I'm not with him. I flirt with Tad a lot. I flirted with you --"

"We're not discussing me right now. We're talking about you and Lathan. If it doesn't lead to relationships, how are you two together?"

"I was telling you that!"

"Well if flirting can lead to relationships, how do you know he's not having another one right now?"

I was going to say that I trust him when Mr. Nicholson screamed,

"Alright! Set up! Get your instruments out!"

Damn teacher.

*sigh* It's 1:30 now. I better hit the sack. I'll finish this entry later.

last - next