Image Hosted by The Image Hosting

Flying By
current - archives - profile - links - rings - cast - pics! - quizzies - email - gbook - notes - host - image - design

Y'all. Teehee. I'm such a hick
2003-04-28, 9:15 p.m.

Lathan finally knows about our dear old friend. Yippee skippee. Too bad he's the last to find out. ;)

This day was a rather lazy Monday. I'd overslept, which I seem to do every time this day rolls along, and I ended up taking a shower late.

My brother and I race for the bathroom every morning. Whomever arrives first (it's usually me) reeks the benefits of a warm shower and with a dry towel (humidity's a bitch). In my haste, I grabbed all the necessities for changing and showering, but when I began to undress I noticed the lack of clean underwear in the pile of clothes. So I ran to my bed room, leaving the already-acquired clothes on the closed toilet seat.

There's an unwritten rule in my house regarding bathrooms: As long there is clothes in there, it's off limits to those who wish to shower. My brother, in his assy way, disregarded the rule and rushed into the room, locking the door behind him. I yelled and banged on the door (at 6:15 AM) until he cracked it open, called him an ass, and got all of my clothes out. Resisting the urge to turn off the lights while he was showering was extremely difficult.

Other than that (and being later than usual to school) the day went pretty uneventful. The majority of the band geeks were absent today from class (State Orchestra solos and evaluations) and I was forced to sit first chair and play piccolo. Although I enjoyed that position in middle school, first chair in highschool is a little more overwhelming, for the lack of a better word. More is expected from a first chair kid. Thank God it was only for today and tomorrow.

Now, I don't want to play piccolo. Every mistake made can be heard over the entire band. Fucked up on fingering? It's heard. Playing the tiny, shrill instrument makes one very self-conscious. Blending with the rest of the flute section just doesn't happen. Agh. The responsibility that comes with that instrument! The curs�d instrument! With Christina, our one and only piccoloist, leaving next year for college, we're going to be short an instrument.

Alice, who is in Tampa along with Adam and Drew, detests piccolo and said that If I don't play it, Harley will. Harley. Cannot. Play. Piccolo. She can barely play her goddamn instrument correctly! And I, being the band geek, actually want to hear something that atleast sounds ok, so I'm going to be doing playing the blasted thing next year. Le sigh.

Lunch wasn't the same without Drew, I must say. At that time he was probably going on roller coasters at Islands of Adventure in Orlando, not wasting a thought on the friends back in rained-out Miami. Harry was the first to point out Drew's absence, which was noticed this morning before school. While he's not the leader of the group, he's a major and vital part to it. The most fun we ever have is caused by his antics and carried throughout the rest of the group.

Good news... I've finally finished my Maya Angelou book. Now all I have to do is study the notes and 63 vocab words. Speaking of which, I'd better start concentrating. 'Night, y'all.

last - next