Image Hosted by The Image Hosting

Flying By
current - archives - profile - links - rings - cast - pics! - quizzies - email - gbook - notes - host - image - design

Voices in the Night IV
May 17, 2003, 8:55 a.m.

Unh, I'm up rather early on a weekend. For me, anyway. I'm one of those people that can sleep past noon and still wake up tired- and with a headache.

I'm waiting 'til 10 before I call Lathan, or waiting 'til he comes online, whichever happens first. He's supposed to take me and Jimmie to go get fitted for Laredis' quincenera next Saturday. *waiting patiently*


Last night I had a great time. My sister Jazzmyn and I went to the school to see the chorus perform. throughout the whole thing were little skits, which eventually led into songs. In fact, most of the songs came from musicals so it's no wonder.

I remember the beginning quite well. The opener was cute.

When the show first opened the chorus members filed out silently, looking around in confusion and clumsily climbing onto the stage. I saw Harry doing the same thing and ran to the front of the half-decent-looking chorus. The leader (the Concert Master of the chorus. Not sure what it's called) pushed people around until they were in place and returned to front center of the choir.

The group immediately cupped one hand in the other, their elbows sticking out parallel to the floor and looked at him. He in turn looked at the piano player and stuck one arm out and played an imaginary note in the air. The piano obliged, creating a nasty, horrible chord. The guy shook his head and signaled again. Again, the piano player played an icky chord.

The third time, the guy told the piano player to play three(?) notes. He did so, correctly and stopped and ran onto stage, stopped between Harry and another guy. Giving them each dirty looks, he shoved them aside and stepped between them. The two guys gave him a dirty look. Each section of the choir sang one of those notes, creating a chord.

And then the singing finally started. At one point, a soloist behind Harry started singing, making sounds with his throat, much like the ones Hebrew speakers can be heard saying. It involves exhaling and raising the back of the tongue. So while he was singing he made that sound at the beginning of every few words, sending spit with it. Harry looked up and raised his arm, thinking it was raining. When he "realized" that it was the dude spitting his faced scrunched in disgust and he pulled out a white lace umbrella, ducked down and put it over his head.

Aww, Harry's such an actor.

After several soloists in different songs performed, Harry came back on with his, "Danza, Danza, fanciulla gentile" Drew and the piano player were the first on stage to play the instrumental part and then Harry and Erica were on, the girl sitting on the chair. Harry starts singing to her in some foreign language (Latin? Italian? I dunno) and she blocks him out. It ends with him on one knee singing to her and she glares at him and then slaps him, sending the small senior flying across the stage. The audience laughed and the stage went black.

When the first act was finally over and intermission came I stood up. The show started at 7 and I'd been sitting around before then, so you can imagine I was pretty stiff. Near the end of the break, I caught a glimpse of Drew and Harry,who was on the phone, to the right of the auditorium, so I made my way over there to talk to them.

"Did you hear me?" Drew asked.

"No."

"Ok, good."

"Only on the higher notes."

"Good. I messed up so much."

"I think you did that on purpose."

"Messed up?"

"No, played softly."

"You're right. The second Act is shorter than the first. Can't wait 'til it's over."

"Why?"

"I've got to get up early in the morning to go fishing." Figures. "Well I'm going upstairs. Seeya."

"Bye."

Drew made his way up to the balcony in the back. "Where's Drew?" Harry asked.

"Hi to you, too. You don't look too happy."

"Tell me about it. Where's Drew?"

"He went up to the balcony."

"Can you give him this for me? I gotta go." He handed me his cellphone.

"Ok. Bye." I headed up to balcony and found Drew sitting by himself. He looked at me and smiled. The lights dimmed and the singing started, so I gave him the phone and sat behind him. He said something, but I couldn't hear him, so I climbed down and sat next to him.

"Oh, I love this song!" he said. "Amen" was being sung by these two girls in white clothing.

"I've never heard of it."

"I didn't either until yesterday at rehearsal." He smiled at me. "Do you know who that girl is?" he inquired, pointing to the girl on the left.

"No, why don't you try looking at the program?"

He snatched it out of my hand. "You're such a genius! Ok, it's... Zoey"

"Sounds like someone is smitten." He went quiet after that.

A few seconds into the song, people began standing at the balcony edge, blocking our view of the stage. The both of us headed downstairs into the full crowd. One minute he was right behind me, the next he was gone. I didn't see him for the rest of the night.

After the show I was looking for Harry, but I couldn't find him. Jazzmyn informed me that mom was waiting outside, so I abandoned my search and headed for the car. I felt so guilty about not congratulating Harry. But he called me at around 11 last night and we talked for about five minutes.

Yeah, last night was fun.

last - next