Image Hosted by The Image Hosting

Flying By
current - archives - profile - links - rings - cast - pics! - quizzies - email - gbook - notes - host - image - design

Laredis' Quinces
May 25, 2003, 10:04 a.m.

Mm. I'm sleepy. It wasn't til 2:30 that my head reached the pillow last night. And for once, it wasn't because I was sitting down at the computer. Last night was Laredis' Quinces. My, my, the day was hectic.

At 9:00 I was at this hair salon, waiting to get my hair done. I dun like getting my hair done, if you don't know, especially at Digit's. Everyone there speaks Spanish and I don't. One lady got an attitude with me 'cause I couldn't understand half of what she was saying.

"You don't speak any Spanish?" she asked me in her language.

"No."

"Nothing?"

"No, I can't."

"Nothing?"

"Not really."

"Oi!" With that, she walked off.

Mean people.

And it took them 4 freakin' hours to finish with me. They tried putting curlers in my hair and sticking me under a blowdrier. I knew it wouldn't work-- my hair's too curly for that. Then I ended up getting yelled at because the lady said my hair wasn't dry and that I shouldn't have sat down to have gotten it finished. Well, I was directed there by another hair stylist who said I was dry.

When the curls didn't come out like it was supposed to, they got upset and blow-dried it straight, then took a curling iron and did it manually. That only took 15 minutes! I sat there for four freakin' hours just to have something done that could have been over with in 15 minutes?! Ah! Lazy people! To top off the hairdo, they covered me in hairspray, including a special kind that contained gold glitter. In the end, the hair was fa-bu-lous, but for a while I was worryin'.

When I got home I basically chilled out for a while before getting dressed. My brother-in-law drove me to Laredis' house to get makeup and whatnot. After makeup I just hung out and waited for Lathan. Jimmie came and remarked that I look much prettier with makeup.

"Are you saying I'm not pretty?"

"No! You just look better-- I'm going to shut up, now."

Mean!

When everyone arrived, we finally left. Laredis got her own limo while the others squeezed into the second. I had to sit on Lathan's lap because of it. Tons of pictures later, we were backstage at the banquet hall. The show finally started and we did our thing, dancing here and there and twirling this way and that way. The performance went fine.

After that, we all led a toast to Laredis. None of the kids wanted to drink it because of the wine's alcohol content, so we took baby sips and made disgusted faces at each sip. Oh, God, that stuff is nasty! I was never much of an alcohol drinker, and I sure didn't change last night. Yuck.

After the whole show, we danced for fun til about 1. Well, I kind of danced. Lathan just stood there, complaining that he couldn't dance. It's not like he tried, but oh well.

All this dancing has caused my right big to to bleed. Dancing in heels is not smart, I know, but I did it anyway. It wasn't til I took of my shoes that it was noticed that I was bleeding. Yeah.

That was the night, basically. I got home at 1:30 and, as I said, didn't get to sleep until 2:30. Yep. Long day yesterday.

last - next