Image Hosted by The Image Hosting

Flying By
current - archives - profile - links - rings - cast - pics! - quizzies - email - gbook - notes - host - image - design

Wooh
May 29, 2003, 6:34 p.m.

Bad news. My monitor shut down completely last night while talking to Lathan and Drew online. It was replaced today, but bothering my eyes, meaning that I'll be on it less. God, this thing is blurry. In fact, looking at the screen is now giving me a headache.

Today was the the school's undergraduate awards ceremony. Many people won awards-- the '06 class president won 3 or four; Erica, Drew's over-achieving sister, won 2 (A Princeton book award and some other academic award); and I, little ol' freshman me, won an award. Surprise, surprise. And what was it in? Can you guess? Can you? I'm the top English student in my class.

Now how strange is that? Most people would be like, Hell no! just by reading this diary. But I can write, dammit. It may not be the best in the world, but I can do it if it needs to be done. But in all honesty, I don't believe I deserve the award. Ms. Silverman, the one who presented and nominated me or something (I don't know exactly how the process works) has always thought me the "ideal student" since the beginning of the year.

And in her little speech she gave before calling my name for the award was quite cute. It went something along the lines of "Her ability to read and understand literature and to see the deeper picture [Ha. I sure didn't get yesterday's poem.] is just astounding.She has showed excellent writing skills with sophisticated word choice and the use of dialogue [*cough* You've seen my dialogue use] and uses literary devices in her writing. Almost every assignment she turns in is a guaranteed A; she is a model student. " It went somethin' like that. There was more, but I kinda ducked my head down in embarrassment. I've read my work, let me tell you. Literary devices are generally not used, except for imagery and a hyperbole here and there. Rarely do I ever use similes and metaphors and symbolism and all that crap. Don't get me wrong-- I'm flattered. But it would be impossible for me to be the best in my class.

Ok, enough whining.

Band was cool today. We didn't have to play anything so I drifted from group to group, messing with the guys and playing cards with the girls. I got bored after a while so I switched ID's with Keriane and pretended I was her. After a while of making fun of her, I went to the guy and pretended to be all innocent. She stepped behind Drew and was about to flirt with him, but scrunched her face up and backed off.

"Ha! Look at Allison!" I said to Drew. "She was going to put her arm around you and then made a face." I imitated her and he laughed. Poor Keriane.

Drew decided to join in and pretty soon the all the guys were doing it with me and Keriane. Drew and I switched IDs, too, and I slapped him. He then raised his voice and spoke all squeaky-like. "Stop, Drew. You're so stupid."

"Yeah, well, you have a penis."

"I don't have a penis."

"Yes you do, I saw it last night. Oh, oh oh."

"You're so mean. I don't have a penis!"

"And it's really big, too." He hit me and I grabbed his chest.

"Ah, don't touch me!"

"C'mon. On the floor now."

"Wellons! Stop picking on Drew!" Mr. Nicholson called. "You're always beating up on the boys! Don't worry. You'll get a man someday."

"She has a boyfriend," said Drew.

Nicholson pretended not to hear. "One day you'll be as popular as your sister. Don't worry." While I was wondering where that statement came from, the class ooohed and and laughed.

"That's so mean," said Drew, imitating me again.

He stole the words right out of my mouth.


Whelp. That's all for now. I'm going to procrastinate on my English homework-- mainly because this screen is really giving me a headache. I'd better call Lathan anyway.

last - next