Image Hosted by The Image Hosting

Flying By
current - archives - profile - links - rings - cast - pics! - quizzies - email - gbook - notes - host - image - design

Thursday
November 02, 2003, 9:33 p.m.

The past couple of days have been busy as hell and just a bit confusing.

Thursday was hell. It rained. It poured. The old man snored. My piccolo got ruined. RUINED.

Anyone out there can repair and/or change pads for free? Didn't think so.

Well that was the day that I rejoiced. Naturally, I ended up sitting next to Drew on the bus to the football game, though it was not my intention. While I wanted to get away from Benjamin, who was sitting next to me originally, my aim was to sit near my friends, but away from Drew. Too bad that was the only opening.

Yes, let's make my boyfriend even more jealous!

So we chatted for a while, when I rested my head on his shoulder-- a completely innocent gesture of friendly affection. It was him who took the initiative to put his arm around my shoulder and pull me over to lean on his chest. He grabbed my wrists, not to hold me still, but a kind of act of affection that he would show to one of his girlfriends.

"God, you're such a flirt," I told him.

"Me? I'm not a flirt."

"What are you doing right now?"

"You think I'm flirting?"

"Dear, this is flirting."

"What is?"

"This!" I gestured towards him, then back to me. "You're flirting."

"Hm." Yet he made no attempt to move. It didn't really bother me. It's always good for a girl to receive a bit of attention here in there when she's nogetiing it from the one source she's supposed to be getting it from.

"You know what?" Came Charles' voice from behind our seat.

"What?" Came another.

"I bet you by the third 9 weeks Drew and Allison'll hook up."

"Yep. Probably."

I giggled, thinking it was a funny assumption. Me? Be Drew's girlfriend? I have better taste than that. Drew's not the kind of guy one partners with. He's more of the kind that one makes out with because she's got nothing better to do, and it's fun. Basically, a friends with benefits kind of thing.

"So Drew," I said sarcastically, "You think we're gonna hook up by--"

"No!--"

"Yeah, cut me off."

"-- I mean, no offense but I would never go out with you."

My temper flared for a second there. What the hell is wrong with me that you'd never even consider going out with me? What? Am I too horrible to be your girlfriend, but good enough to be sexually harrassed since the first day I met you? Asshole.

Ok, so this thought lasted more than a second. In fact, it interfered with my ability to defend my own feelings, and the effect was the appearance of being hurt by rejection.

"I.. well..." This is when I realized that his lack of feelings was a good thing! "I didn't want to go out with you anyway." And that's the damn truth.

He gently squeezed my wrist to show his apology, and we dropped the subject. A few minutes later, everyone exchanged cell numbers amongst eachother. Nathan, Charles, Christopher M, and Drew each got my cell number.

He asked for my number, yet he says he doesn't want me. Talk about mixed signals.

Naturally, I got everyone else's cell number as well, and we called everyone back and forth, having conversations with eachother via phone, though we were sitting next to eachother.

Drew called me.

"Hey there, sexy." I said

"Damn straight."

"What's up?

"Nothin'."

"Can I ask you a question?"

"Yeah."

"Why are we talking on the phone when I'm laying against you?"

"Because."

"Because what?"

"Because I want to."

"Ok."

Pause.

"Ok, I'm bored," he says. "Bye."

And with that we arrived at the football game. It was raining, so we all put on our raincoats and went to the field. The woodwinds were ordered not to play because the rain can cause the pads to swell and become unplayable. However, we had to take them out once halftime came. I decided to call Nathan while we waited.

"Nay-than," I whined. "I'm bored!"

�Me too. You know what? If you look at the line you�re in it�s like skinny, then a big ol� bloop in the middle,� he continued, pointing to Benjamin, �then skinny again.�

I laughed. �Oh my God, Nathan, you�re so mean!�

�Well I can�t help it if he�s a fat fuck!�

�Don�t say that!�

�What? It�s true!�

�It�s not like he�s fat on purpose!�

�BAND!� Came Andrea�s voice.

�SIR!� Answered the band.

�BAND!�

�SIR!�

�TEN HUT, TEN HUT!�

�HUT!�

�Everyone take out their instruments and get ready to play!�

�But it�s raining!�

�I SAID DO IT!�

So the woodwinds complied. We soon went down to the field after that to perform.

Oh, in God�s heaven was that performance awful. I mean, that was some horrible piece of crapola. My line forgot the to count, so the lines were all screwed up. To think! A performing arts school�s band can�t even march a 56 beat performance! Yes, we are some pathetic children. And by God, it poured right when we got on field. Horribly bad. My instrument and hair got soaked to the point where I just got frustrated and the whole situation was not fun. The music was pretty good, though.

Anyway, we came back into the stands, packed up our instruments and went to get a bite to eat. I walked with Tad to the concession stands, ignoring my other friends behind me. Lucky me, I�m small, so it�s easy to squeeze myself through to the front of the line. I had a hotdog and some Gatorade in three minutes.

�So, Allison, you practicin�?� asked Drew, while I was eating.

"Don't get your hopes up. Though, really, it looks about to be as thin as yours. I turned the hotdog so it faced him. I'll tell you right now it wasn't one of those ballpark franks that plump when you cook 'em.

"Yeah, you're right." I looked at him with astonishment. His green eyes twinkled, followed by laughter. "I'm just kidding!"

"Hey, Drew!" Mr. Nicholson called him over to the corner to talk to him. He winked at me as Drew headed over.

Only an idiot couldn�t tell that Mr. Nicholson wanted to talk about some kind of relationship forming between Drew and I.

It�s common knowledge that I had a ridiculously large crush on that boy last year. Even he knew, and that�s why he flirted all the time. I think he just relished in the fact that a girl liked him, even if he didn�t care for her at all. But that�s ok. I�m over him now.

Really!

What? Don�t look at me like that!

Ok, so Mr. Nicholson was talking to Drew, when Heath slowly backed up to listen to the conversation.

�WOW, HEATH, YOU�RE DOING A GOOD JOB OF EAVESDROPPING!� I screamed, loud enough for Mr. Nicholson to hear. He looked over and laughed, and Heath gave me The Eye.

Then he winked at me again.

�All right, Mr. Nicholson, now why are you winking at me? Are you talking about me? What are you saying?�

�Oh, just that I heard that you and Drew here were doing something in the locker room.� He grinned at me.

�No, no. See, people have just been saying that �cause when they called us out of the locker room into inspection formation, we came out and remembered that we had to tuck in our shirts. So we had to sit there and adjust our--�

�It�s OK, Wellons. You don�t have to say any more. If I was mad at you, you�d know it.�

�But--�

�Don�t worry about it.� He chuckled and told us to get back in inspection formation. I looked at Drew and he smirked and raised his eyebrows.

We actually won the football game. Can you believe it? My school, MKHS, won a stinkin� football game! That�s three this season, a record! Yes, we suck.

On the bus ride home, the band didn�t bother marching in the normal conventional way. It wasn�t until the drum major yelled at us did we get in line and march. Even then, it was half-heartedly and we soon broke up before we got to the buses.

I grabbed a seat, wanting to sit by myself for a while. No reason in particular, really, I just wanted to get a bit of quiet time. Not happening. Seeing the available seat, my green-eyed friend plopped next to me.

�Switch seats,� he ordered. �I hate sitting on the end.�

So I complied. �You�re such a dork.�

He laughed. �And you�re stupid.�

It wasn�t long before I was back in the same position I was in at the first bus ride. Maya messaged me soon afterward, and Drew took my phone and started writing back.

Drew: Do you have on any clothes?

Maya: Um.. Yeah. Why wouldn�t I be?

Allison: Ignore that last message. It�s my [�Say sexy, say sexy!!� said Drew] �sexy� friend, Drew.

Maya: Ok. Sup?

Drew: I have a big cock.

�God, you�re disgusting!� I told him. Really! Like I would care to know about that kind of stuff! Perv!

Maya: Um, ok. That�s nice.

Drew: You know you want me.

At this point, the bus stopped, and we left. Because we had to go the same way, we walked a different direction then most of the band, a route that would be a bit more efficient than what the majority was taking.

�Do you know what this looks like?� he asked.

�Let�s give them another reason to make them think we�re doing something!� I said, sarcastically. �Who cares, anyway? We know we�re not doing anything.

�You know what?� I continued, �This gate up here might be locked. Maybe we should go back. Unless�� I gave him a smirk, �you want to climb the fence.�

He smiled. �Yeah, why not?� Instead, we walked through an open door, which passed through the dance hallway.

�What you two been doin�?� Came Rivkin�s voice. He�s one of the dancers for the band.

�Nothin�.�

�Mmmmhmmm.�

After that we went to the band room, got our instruments, and went our own directions.

Haha. That was fun.

And so goes Thursday.

last - next