Image Hosted by The Image Hosting

Flying By
current - archives - profile - links - rings - cast - pics! - quizzies - email - gbook - notes - host - image - design

Solo & Ensemble
February 21, 2004, 11:37 p.m.

I miss Pioneer.

It's funny. The day was replete with positive happenings, but at the end of the day, the only thing I can say is, "I miss Pioneer."

I mean, let's look at today's events:

Went to solo & ensemble

Went to a New World Symphony Concert

Walked along South Beach for a few hours

What more can a girl ask for?

Enh, her boyfriend.

I am truly pathetic.


Okay, so let's explain these events mentioned above.

I woke up at 5:30 AM to get to school by 6:30 for Solo & Ensemble. We bordered the bus, I being forced to sit next to Benji. Not a bad thing, really. It's just that sometimes he really grates my nerves.

While at the school, I listened to a lot of people play their solos. Alice was absolutely wonderful, but she got so upset because her mom distracted her when she made a page turn.

She stopped for two seconds in the middle of her solo and was lectured by the judge. Poor Alice.

But she still got a superior.

Drew also got a superior, as did Alexia.

When I walked in to be judged, I wasn't as nervous as I usually am before playing. Usually I practically go into convulsions before, during, and after I play. Today, for some reason, I had very few butterflies flyin' around.

What purty butterflies!

So I played my flute solo pretty darn well. Only messed up once. But then another big thing happened: my cell phone rang.

Can you believe it? Out of all the times to call, Devon had to call me in the middle of my solo. Why? Why? Stupid freshmen.

But anyway, I continued and finished the solo. He had but two constructive comments:

I rushed some of my thirty-second notes.

I didn't "show off" as much as I'm capable of during the cadenza.

But there is a big ol' list for the positive stuff, but I shall be nice and not list them. Let's just say that he says that I'm a very good musician.

My piccolo solo went just as well. When that came around, I wasn't nervous at all. Funny stuff. But I still screwed up, because I haven't been practicing that one like I should.

Shame on me.

And he didn't say one bad thing about my piccolo solo anyway. Of course he wouldn't. That solo is easy as hell.

I hung out with a bunch of Norland kids afterwards. Fun, fun.

Twenty minutes later, I got my scores back. Superior for each solo. E'rebody clap yo' hands.

I said clap, bish.

Yeah, that's what I thought.


When I returned home, Noah picked me up and his parents and I went to South Beach to watch teh New World Symphony perform. Tonight was concerto night. There was a clarinet concerto, a violin concerto, a viola, and a cello concerto.

The viola was probably the worst. And she's a Juliard graduate.

Oh yeah, sucks to her.

While walking along South Beach, I got a rose from a human Elvis Presley statue. He received a dollar for his little performance, and so he picked up a little flower, opened the bud up further, and handed it to me.

How sweet.


So at this moment I'm having a little historical debate with Miriam. Yes, Pi. With Miriam. And don't you say anything to her because I messaged her. So there. ;)

Oh Godz I'm tired. I'm off to bed.

Ta-ta.

last - next