Image Hosted by The Image Hosting

Flying By
current - archives - profile - links - rings - cast - pics! - quizzies - email - gbook - notes - host - image - design

Be there! The Faaaaiiiir....... Be there!
2003-03-28, 9:39 p.m.

Ah, what a day! What a day! Melanie, Lathan, Jimmie, Alain, and I went to the Dade County Youth Fair and Exposition (AKA The Youth Fair). We got there a little late then planned, though. It's all Melanie's mom's fault!

She had to take a tour through Lathan's big-ass house (boy, is he loaded!). "Oh, we're not gonna stop," she says. "We're only gonna pick [Jimmie, Lathan, and Alain] up and leave," she says. But no. We were shown around the house by his mom.

I believe she said that the house originally had 6 bedrooms, but they knocked a few walls down and made other rooms larger. His house is about twice the size of mine, two-storied and with a pool.

But my pool is bigger and better, so nya! Haha, Lathan.

So after making a stop at Lathan's we had to stop at Alain's house so th' boy could pick up some money. He snuck out some silly string and hid the can in his pocket.

"What's that you put in your pocket," Melanie questioned.

"Oh, nothing," came his reply.

I was soon covered in green silly string after Mrs. F. stopped by her house to get Mr. F. This launched tons of playfighting.

I don't know why, but they all decided to gang up on me. Alain tickled me, Melanie pinched, Lathan did stupid stuff, and Jimmie just watched.

Meanies.

When we finally got to the Youth Fair we rode a bunch of rides, all of which were pretty lame. Lathan was my partner for almost all of them. An' it was only him and I for Dopple Loop, the only roller coaster at th' YF that contains two loops. We had to stand in line forever just to get on the 10-second ride. The wait was worth it; I got to flirt and catch up with Lathan the whole time.

After the roller coaster we went on some dumbass ride with the rest of the gang and then sat around and chatted about various stuff. And we kept Lathan from sittin' down. Ooh, do we love to pick on him.

I stood up and stepped on his left white shoe. He kind of freaked out and stepped on both of mine. This brought him about an inch away from me. It kinda made me uncomfortable.

"Uh, you're a little close," I told him.

"Oh, you know you like it."

"Actually..." He stepped down.

It's common knowledge that I've had a crush on and off on Lathan for about a year now. What I feel for him now I'm not so sure. I have no clue whether I should just be friends and act all friend-like with him or if I should just behave with him as I do with Drew. It's really strange.

Soon after that we departed and headed towards the lift that would carry us 75ft-ish in th' air about a half of a mile to the front of the YF. I sat with Jimmie on one car, Melanie and Alain sat in another, and Lathan was by himself. I didn't want to leave him, but Jimmie begged me to sit with him.

Jimmie, who came decked out in a big red Elmo (from Sesame Street) shirt and black shorts ("Ooh, I feel a draft."), discussed weird stuff with me. We talked about fears.

"Wouldn't it be funny if the wire broke?" I'd say.

"That's not funny!" he'd reply.

Ahaha, the humor.

Yadda yadda, blah blah.

When we'd finally left the YF and headed to the car, Lathan and I lagged behind to talk. Usually, I just link my arm with his. Must've done that 50 times tonight... But whatever. He decided not to do that and put his arm around my shoulder. I in turn looped my arm around his waist.

For a while he just talked about how much he hates his school:

"I hate [censored]. Everyone's so serious, and the ones who aren't are gay." He goes to this fancy performing arts school. "And if you try to hang out with the gay people others will think you're gay. If I try to hang out with the girls they'll think I [want to be] a girl."

"Poor Lathan." I hugged him. We walked in silence for a few moments after that.

"Y'know, I love you," he said.

"What do you mean? You can't be serious."

"I'm serious. You know what I mean."

"Oh." I lightly tapped his stomach, a sign of me being uncomfortable.

"Why did you just hit me? See? I tell you that I love you and you hit me!"

"I didn't hit you."

"Yes you did," he whined.

"Well what do you want me to do?"

"Say 'I love you' back."

"Fine. I love you, Lathan," I said, the sarcasm clear in my tone.

"No, you don't mean it."

"How do you know?"

"Because you're being sarcastic."

"Whatever you say."

"So you do love me?"

"It depends what you mean by love."

"You know what I mean."

"No, I don't." Yes, I do. I'm just in denial.

"Yes, you do."

"Whatever."

We'd reached the car and I hopped in the back. He climbed in right next to me. "Y'know, I am serious," he whispered into my ear. I nodded and rested my head on his shoulder. He never mentioned it again.

He's not in love with me. 'Can't be. When do we ever see eachother? When do we ever talk? No, it's not love. Infatuation, maybe. A crush? Has to be. I wish he wouldn't take the L word so lightly. It's not something I say to just anybody. You wouldn't ever catch me saying that to Drew, and everyone already knows how I feel about him.

I almost fell asleep on Lathan's shoulder when Melanie pinched me. Damn you, Melanie! I know you're reading this! Damn you for pinching me, you mean, mean girl! I hope your brother/sister turns out to be a brat.

Teehee.

Yadda yadda. Skippin' some parts..

Finally, Melanie's mom dropped me off at my house, I said bye to everyone, and came in the house. Now, I'm on the computer, about to go to bed.

So, goodnight people!

last - next