Image Hosted by The Image Hosting

Flying By
current - archives - profile - links - rings - cast - pics! - quizzies - email - gbook - notes - host - image - design

I hate concerts
2003-02-14, 11:25 p.m.

I'm furious. Again. This has to be the worst Valentine's Day of my life. All because of little autistic Daniel. Whatever, more on that later.

Valentine's Day was pretty decent. I got some candy, a homemade valentine, and a rose from a "secret admirerer" *cough*Julian*cough*. The rose was delivered to my band class.

Everyone was decked out in red 'cept for those who felt that that would be conforming. They all wore black. Or green.

Drew, who hates Valentine's Day, decided to send a rose to his sister. He filled in the blanks on the form.

To: The Ugliest Sister in the World

From: The Cutest Boy Ever Seen

Room number: [censored]

When the flower arrived at her homeroom, no one had any clue who it was to. The teacher finally asked the class, "who would sign a card 'To: The Ugliest Sister in the World'?" Drew's sister knew who it was from, but I'm not sure if she said anything. All I know is that she kicked his ass at lunch.

"Haha. I would've hit you, too," I told him after the little story afterschool. He laughed.

I must admit. That's too funny! Genius! I must try that someday...


Tonight was the concert I've been practicing for since two weeks ago. Drew was supposed to come (he said he wouldn't miss it), but then bailed, thank God. I would've been so nervous. He had something else to do. If it was before six he would've came, though. It started at 7.

It went pretty well, considering the fact that Daniel likes to hog the spotlight and be the leader. I can tolerate that kind of crap.

Everything was running pretty smoothly, even though Daniel had stolen several of my solos to play as his own. It took a change at the very end. My guess is that he felt threatened by me and since he loves to be the dominant player it was imperative the he upstage me.

About a month ago, we agreed on what our duets were to be. There were four: Waltz, Largo, Minuet, and Over the Rainbow. He decided to change the order, taking one of my solos as the substitute. Without asking me. And then he took out another duet. One that was supposed to be the "Grand Finale". The lovely (-_-) "Over the Rainbow".

He stole it for himself, jazzed it up, and won the crowd over. That seriously pissed me off.

I'm not pissed because he upstaged me. I'm perfectly fine with that. It's not the first time it's happened before. The problem was that he ruined all of the plans that were set. He stole my music and used it as his own, disregarded any of my feelings, and didn't stick to what he was supposed to do. He tried to make me look stupid and talentless, and he succeeded.

Of course, it's not his fault. He's autistic. 'Doesn't know right from wrong.

Complete bullshit. He maybe socially-challenged, occasionally rude without meaning to be, but he knows what is forgivable and what is not. I know this for a fact. While he is autistic, his case isn't that severe. Besides, he really has no excuse.

Okan, another autistic kid in band, would never do that. Sure, he's kinda slow and he's forgetful and also socially-challenged, but he would know better not to do what Daniel did.

On top of that, Daniel took one of my solos to play as a duet to make up for his solo. I played it once before that night and everyone already knew how it went, but I just let him do what he wants.

The beginning tempo is 106. 106 beats per minute. That's a moderate tempo. He took it at, like 55. 55! Of course, I let him start off, and he screwed it up! It was so slow and he kept adding ritards (slowing of the tempo) here and there and fermatas (little signs that mean to hold out a note longer than it's written). And then he tells me to "follow [his] lead"! What the fuck? He plays the music incorrectly and then I have to follow him. Fine. That's what musicians do. We cover up another's mistakes.

On the second movement, which is 112, he takes it at 144. That's freakin' fast. I had to struggle to keep up and he knew it. To embarass me he dropped out and let me play alone for a phrase, where I struggled -- but just managed -- to keep up. He was suprised when I played it flawlessly.

I fumed about the concert all of the way home. He's such an asshole! Of course, my mom defended him ("you can't expect him to know any better.."), which made me more furious. God I hate him. I will never. Ever. Ever-ever-ever-ever-ever. Play with him again.

Asshole.


P.S. I threw away the rose.

P.S.S. I'm positive it's not from Drew, so no more bothering me!

last - next